Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > ATM and DIY Projects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 24-07-2021, 08:46 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,466
Arduino focuser (myFocuserPro)

I am looking into myFocuserPro f/w... and I have compilation error, even after following all instructions (I hope) properly...
Are there similar issues (and solutions) with other DIY-ers?
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (c_210.jpg)
80.4 KB38 views
Click for full-size image (c_209.jpg)
55.6 KB26 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-07-2021, 12:08 PM
redbeard's Avatar
redbeard (Damien)
Registered User

redbeard is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 512
Hi Bojan,


With the info you have provided, this is what I think based on the error message.



Normally, there is a folder called 'libraries' under the Arduino installation folder where you would put your focuser library into. That way Arduino knows how to find the library. The error message you are getting is as it says as it can't locate the file. The sketch folder or below is not the library folder.


On my PC, the sketch location is: C:\Users\Redbeard\Documents\Arduino , but this is not where libraries should go.



The installation folder where I have installed Arduino software on my PC is G:\Arduino\


All my library files are stored in G:\Arduino\libraries\ as this is where Arduino software looks for them.



Arduino libraries are not normally stored in the sketch folder. It's annoying as the Arduino software does not list where it stores the libraries.


You don't need to copy the individual files to this location, just the folder with the files in it.



Ignore if you already know all this.


Cheers,
Damien.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-07-2021, 02:32 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,466
Hi Damien,
Thank you for the comment.

I came to the same conclusion as you suggested, but my Ardino IDE still can't find that library.
Funny thing is, that "myQueue.h" is in the folder of the same name, but there is nothing else in it, while other folders of the same package have other files, including *.cpp.
So I don't know what is happening here... still waiting for someone with similar experience with that particular "sketch" or from discussion group to reply...
Thanks again,

Bojan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-07-2021, 08:36 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,466
Still no joy...
No idea what is wrong here.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (c_211.jpg)
160.2 KB16 views
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-07-2021, 09:46 PM
brown_rb (Robert)
Registered User

brown_rb is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 10
re myFocuserPro2

Under no circumstances place this in the C:\program files etc


Arduino stores libraries in two places
1. In a libraries directpry along with executable program (normally C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino)
2. In the users Documents folder


As these are user libraries, do not put them in C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino


If Arduino IDE is running, close it


Unzip the firmware file.
Go into the myFocuserPro2libraries folder
Select all folders and then Copy
Go back to the Documents\Arduino\Libraries folder (from 2 above)
When in the Documents\Arduino\Libraries PASTE all those copied folders.


Then start Arduino IDE
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-07-2021, 12:04 AM
brown_rb (Robert)
Registered User

brown_rb is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 10
Wong user preferences

Somehow. in Arduino IDE, File, Preferences
The Sketch location is shown as
C:\users\Astra_1\Documents\Arduino\ libraries


which is wrong
it should be C:\users\Astra_1\Documents\Arduino


Because it is specified incorrectly, Arduino is looking for the user libraries in

C:\users\Astra_1\Documents\Arduino\ libraries\libraries


which aint gonna work
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-07-2021, 11:00 AM
redbeard's Avatar
redbeard (Damien)
Registered User

redbeard is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by bojan View Post
Hi Damien,
Thank you for the comment.

I came to the same conclusion as you suggested, but my Ardino IDE still can't find that library.
Funny thing is, that "myQueue.h" is in the folder of the same name, but there is nothing else in it, while other folders of the same package have other files, including *.cpp.
So I don't know what is happening here... still waiting for someone with similar experience with that particular "sketch" or from discussion group to reply...
Thanks again,

Bojan

Hi Bojan,



This may help:
https://sourceforge.net/p/arduinoasc...read/15ce87a1/


I would definitely remove the 'libraries' reference as noted from the link for your preferences file. Change to: "c:\Users\Astra_1\Documents\Arduino " as Robert has pointed out.



Also the reference in the preferences file points to where your saved sketches files will be saved by default, not your libraries folder.


The libraries folder should be one level below where the actual installation of Arduino was done. For example, if you installed the Arduino software in say c:\Program_files(x86)\Arduino, then the libraries folder should be: c:\Program_files(x86)\Arduino\libra ries and that's where I would put the libraries.


I just placed the myQueue.h in an Arduino sketch and it compiled OK on my machine so I think file location and the above link may help.



Cheers,
Damien.

Last edited by redbeard; 25-07-2021 at 11:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-07-2021, 01:47 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,466
Thank you all for your help guys, and special thanks to Robert (same Robert from SourceForge? who helped me on SF forum).

I just remembered I have lap with (not used much) Arduino installation, so first I will try to compile there, then I will clean this desktop and try from scratch.
Thanks again to all !
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-07-2021, 06:00 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,466
I did all that was recommended, I still have the same problem.
I am now doing the clean installation of Arduino and hoping for the best.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25-07-2021, 06:35 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,466
I am giving up..

It doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 25-07-2021, 08:15 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,466
I really feel stupid now.
I placed content of myFocuserPro2libraries into F:\Data_disk\Arduino_libraries and it works.

I am sure I did exactly that earlier, but without success.. so re-installation must have helped.
Thank you all for your help, now I can start thinking about mechanics
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26-07-2021, 05:55 PM
redbeard's Avatar
redbeard (Damien)
Registered User

redbeard is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by bojan View Post
I really feel stupid now.
I placed content of myFocuserPro2libraries into F:\Data_disk\Arduino_libraries and it works.

I am sure I did exactly that earlier, but without success.. so re-installation must have helped.
Thank you all for your help, now I can start thinking about mechanics

Hi Bojan,


Great to hear you have it sorted. I was just about to send you a document to help but sounds like all is good now.


Cheers,
Damien.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26-07-2021, 06:36 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbeard View Post
Hi Bojan,
Great to hear you have it sorted. I was just about to send you a document to help but sounds like all is good now.
Cheers,
Damien.
Damien, thank you.

Yes, it was my fault entirely - For some reason I placed lib files in wrong folder. What's worse, in the past I was manually updating Arduino libs, and I never made such a stupid mistake... I am getting old (and not reading instructions carefully enough)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-08-2021, 11:34 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,466
Everything mounted in box, and it works :-)
Instead of buttons I have 3x1 switch... but I plan to have encoder instead.
This particular firmware combination (ULN2003 + encoder) is not available, but I will try to reshuffle source.. hopefully it will work.

I also designed and printed motor bracket, to be mounted on C11 using the existing threads around focuser and screws (idea came from Robert's documentation). Gears (or timing belt transmission) are on their way soon.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (DSC_0896.jpg)
201.1 KB28 views
Click for full-size image (C11_focus_CZ-motor_bracket.jpg)
200.2 KB23 views
Click for full-size image (DSC_0905.jpg)
198.8 KB22 views
Click for full-size image (DSC_0909.jpg)
199.4 KB21 views

Last edited by bojan; 09-08-2021 at 01:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-08-2021, 03:15 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,466
Gears fit, but a bit too tight.. perhaps I will print them again, slightly smaller.
On the other hand, the red flange is not flash with scope back end, so the bracket is slanted and motor shaft is moved towards big focuser gear...perhaps 2x 0.5 mm spacers and longer screws will help here.
Anyway, not bad at all for first iteration


EDIT:

With washers under the bracket, gears fit perfectly (as much as plastic can...).
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (DSC_0911.jpg)
199.4 KB21 views
Click for full-size image (DSC_0913.jpg)
200.2 KB20 views

Last edited by bojan; 09-08-2021 at 03:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-08-2021, 03:19 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,466
I also printed the tightening mechanism for 55-teeth gear.
It is tightened with M6 screw and hex nut (which sits in between 3 "fingers" that go into the hollow of the focusing shaft, 16 mm).
It is easy to remove the motor from bracket and use the gear-knob for manual focus instead of original rubber one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (tight.png)
103.1 KB16 views
Click for full-size image (IMG_20210810_150602.jpg)
186.1 KB20 views
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 24-08-2021, 08:59 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,466
Latest update:
I managed to "marry" ULN2003 board and rotary encoder in code - it is a bit of a patchwork, but it reads encoder and moves the motor accordingly, apart from other functionality relevant to ULN2003 board.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (DSC_0927.jpg)
200.2 KB25 views

Last edited by bojan; 24-08-2021 at 09:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement