Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-07-2009, 02:05 AM
Azhure

Which eyepiece for my Nexstar6?

Hello,

I am a very newbie who is newly armed with a Celestron Nextar 6, which was supplied with a plossl 25mm eyepiece.

I am mainly interested at this point at viewing planets.

I am looking at getting a higher magnification eyepiece. Can you please let me know if I m on the right track by surmising the following-

(Nexstar 6 (apeture 150mm), Focal length 1500mm, Focal ratio 10)

If I was to buy the following, I would get the following magnification-
7mm eyepiece-214x
8mm eyepiece -187.5x

If I coupled this with a barlow, I would get better eye relief (yes? to barlow or not to barlow?)

a 16mm eyepiece with barlow would give 187.5x
a 14mm with barlow 214x
(I have read that you dont want to go too far past 200x...?)

I am lucky to be effected with pretty mulch zilch light pollution, I do not wear eye glasses, and I am looking at spending about $450 max.

In light of the above, I am looking at purchasing one the following
options:
(To use with Barlow)
Meade Series 5000 Ultra Wide Angle 14mm
Orion MegaView 16mm
Orion Edge On 16mm

(To use without barlow)
TeleVue 7mm Nagler Type 6

And these are the Barlows I m looking at-
Celestron Ultima 2x Barlow
TeleVue 2x Barlow
Celestron Omni 2x Barlow

Sorry if I ve gone into too much detail or this is covered elsewhere that I haven t found. Any recommendations or confirmation that I m at least on the right track would be much appreciated
Old 06-07-2009, 08:34 AM
dannat (Daniel)
daniel

i would get a 7mm orthoscopic -there are some japanese ones in icetrade for about 75, then spend on buying one of the nagler's in 11-16mm for general viewing - you don't really need wide fov for planets
Old 06-07-2009, 08:38 AM
MJ_ (Matt)