#1  
Old 17-07-2017, 08:17 PM
WaTcHuLoOkNaTm9 (Harry)
Registered User

WaTcHuLoOkNaTm9 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 20
ASCOM Focuser

Hey guys,

I am buying the ZWO ASI 224MC camera and intend on using it with SharpCap with an ASCOM focuser as its compatible with the software. However, I was wondering, what are the best focusers out there that I can use with SharpCap? Preferably one that doesn't cost over a couple hundred dollars. How about this one https://www.myastroshop.com.au/produ...sp?id=MAS-051A ?

Cheers, Harry

Last edited by WaTcHuLoOkNaTm9; 17-07-2017 at 09:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-07-2017, 03:58 PM
tonez
Registered User

tonez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 24
im just finishing off one of these, haven't tested it on the scope yet but it looks like its going to work well

https://sourceforge.net/projects/ard...controllerpro/

or a more basic version that costs next to nothing

https://sourceforge.net/projects/arduinoascomfocuser/


i think the one you linked just gives you a basic app that acts like the hand control (in/out) which is fine to manually focus with but the arduino adds automation and temperature compensation
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-07-2017, 07:47 PM
Bart's Avatar
Bart
Don't have a cow, Man!

Bart is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 993
JMI, Sharp Sky Pro, Robo Focus, Skywatcher, Orion, nFocus.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-07-2017, 05:55 PM
WaTcHuLoOkNaTm9 (Harry)
Registered User

WaTcHuLoOkNaTm9 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 20
Thanks for the replies guys. However, I have decided that I am just going to go straight out and grab a Moonlight CR with the DC motor option, of which I will use an FCUSB with down the track so I can use my PC. I was hoping someone could be able to tell me what drawtube option I should use for the Moonlight focuser. My scope is a 12" skywatcher dob with an f ratio of f/4.9 and focal length of 1500mm. Is it correct that the drawtube is important as only some will provide full focus depending on one's scope?

And yes, I have decided to completely replace my stock focuser. Also, is it wrong to assume this setup would work with the ZWO ASI224MC and AstroLive or any "video astronomy" software for that matter?

Thanks heaps in advance
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
camera, eaa, eyepiece, focuser

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement