Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 31-07-2010, 09:50 PM
roboh (Mark)

Polar alignment of Celestron Nexstar SE

G'day everybody,i'm new to all this and i wanted to ask anyone about polar alignment on a Celestron Nexstar SE.They tell you how to do it in the manual but its writen for the northern hemisphere and (maybe i'm really stupid or something) i just cant seem to get it right for here in Melbourne.The scope is good but i wanna do some astrophotography and i'm still getting a lot of drift.Can anyone help please,i'd really appreciate it.
Old 31-07-2010, 10:01 PM
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

Not really the sort of cope to do anything by the way of astrophotography accept for shots of the Moon and the planets. Unless you have it on an EQ mount.
Old 31-07-2010, 10:17 PM
roboh (Mark)

As i said,i'm just a beginner and i wanna use what i have at the moment.I've taken some pretty good shots unguided but i'd like to take some longer exposures thats why i wanna know how to polar align it.
Old 31-07-2010, 10:32 PM
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

If you want to polar align it, you can't because the mount that you have it on is an alt-az mount. It can track in altitude (declination if you will) but not in right ascension, which means it can't follow an object across the sky in sync with the Earth's rotation. That's why if you try and go for longer than 30secs to a minute with any exposures, you will see the stars in your pictures begin to rotate. That is due to those stars moving in RA across the line of sight of your scope. In order to be able to take long exposure shots, you need an EQ or equatorial mount, which will also track the stars in RA, allowing you to lock onto a star and follow it across the sky in sync with the Earth's rotation.