Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-01-2006, 02:09 AM
Cyclops

Blasphemy!

G'day ppl, great site, friendly people with lots of info!

Anyway onto the blasphemy - I am a COMPLETE noob and (if/when) I get a setup, I want to do astrophotogaphy.

I would like to get any idea of the minimum cost of getting a "goto" setup to take photo's.

I don't know enough to make educated guesses on what I need, but I know enough to ask other who do!

All I can tell you is that I want a fairly easy to setup scope, nothing over 8" as the cost starts to rise substantially. I assume I need a special sort of digital camera to attatch to the scope.

I am hoping to find a couple of ppl around my area to have a look at their setups etc, but really I just want something to play with for myself - not a passion as yet, just something I would like to try.
Old 03-01-2006, 02:34 AM
RAJAH235
A very 'Senior' member.

Cyclops, all I'm going to say is, Hi, & welcome, to IIS, & that you picked a very, (could be), expensive way to get into Astronomy.
There are lots here who will guide you in your quest.
One thing tho, if poss goto a meeting/open night @ your local society/club. They will be glad to assist.
Good luck. L.
Old 03-01-2006, 03:08 AM
asimov (John)
Planet photographer

Hi & welcome to IIS Cyclops.

I suggest the same as L actually. Go to a meeting & have a look thru some scopes etc. Definitely try before you buy.
Old 03-01-2006, 06:41 AM
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

There's some forum members around your area, beren (stuart) is in perth area and he's into astrophotography. Send him a PM and see if he's able to show you his stuff.