Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 13-01-2005, 09:05 PM
madge
Fresh Blood

Talking New girl

In the immortal words of Sergeant Schultz, "I know noooothing". I'm brand new at this, and you guys are talking a foreign language as far as I'm concerned. However, my husband gave me a telescope for Christmas (because I've wanted one for ages) and now I have to figure out how to make the most of it. I'll visit here on a regular basis and try to get some pointers.
Old 13-01-2005, 09:25 PM
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

Hey Madge! Glad you took the time to sign up, we're all here to help and get you past the steep learning curve..

First things first..

What type of scope is it?
Brand name? Stickers on it? Anything to identify it?

From there, we can help you to make the most out of it!

You'll be stargazing in no time!
Old 13-01-2005, 09:37 PM
ballaratdragons (Ken)
The 'DRAGON MAN'

Hi Madge,

Welcome to the gang.

As to your telescope . . . do you look through it and it has a glass lense at the front of it (Refractor), or does it have a big open hole in the front end and you look in the side of it?(Reflector).

How's that for not using a foreign language. lol.
Old 13-01-2005, 10:07 PM
Starkler (Geoff)
4000 post club member

Welcome Madge.

When I first got my scope, I had little idea of where to point it or what to look at What I did was scan the milky way with binoculars and if i saw anything that stood out I pointed the scope at it. Not a bad way to start

Don't be scared to ask questions

Last edited by Starkler; 13-01-2005 at 10:10 PM.
Old 13-01-2005, 10:11 PM
Striker (Tony)
Whats visual Astronomy

HI Madge...welcome....

Dont worry being new to astronomy as we have a few new members to astronomy including me...I started about a week before Christmas and everyone has been very helpful....

Please post any question you may have no matter how Noob it sounds.....