Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-08-2008, 04:08 PM
UFO

GSO 10" Dob Deluxe or Super Deluxe

This is my first post and I am a complete novice in astonomy.
I like to get a 10" GSO Dob from andrewscom. This is after reading various posts.
They have 2 models, deluxe and super deluxe (arriving soon).

Should I get the deluxe or super deluxe?
My understanding is that the eyepieces that come with the super deluxe are of standard/mediocre quality but not great? With the difference in price ($130) will I be better off getting a good quality eyepiece?
I don't know what adjustable super deluxe tension is and if the deluxe model also has something similar?
I live in Perth and the shipping cost for a 10" is between $80-$100.

I also can get skywatcher in Perth for simlar price because I don't have to pay the shipping cost.
http://www.telescopeshop.com.au/Dobs...er_Dobsonians/

But it seems to me that more people like the GSO better.
To be honest I have no idea if I will get into the hobby seriously but I like to start on the right path.

Your advise will be appreactiated. Thanks.

Last edited by UFO; 04-08-2008 at 04:19 PM.
Old 04-08-2008, 08:12 PM
HawkeyeDaNew (Rob)

I'm in the exact same boat as you mate, and, even in Perth!

Glad you displayed this site, i'm in the market for a scope too! and a complete novice to boot!
Old 04-08-2008, 10:28 PM
Adsyadsman (Adam)

Hey guys,

Im thinking similarly...

Personally, if your not sure if astronomy is for you, go for the GSO dob over a SW. It's just as good as the SW, it's cheaper, and it's lighter so if you wanted to go further you can mount it on an GEM later with some rings (also available from Andrews) or sell it to someone else and freight costs will be down