Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 29-07-2008, 09:07 PM
HawkeyeDaNew (Rob)

Is this scope ---> Celestron - NexStar 5SE any good?

Ok,

so i'm impatient

only just posted in the "new users" or whatever it's called thread, and no-bodies even said 'hi' yet. Worry not, that because i'm to impatient to wait for someone to do it . So the last forum i was in was a motorbike forum in Perth (some may know it...) so hope i'm not too out of place. Selling bike and still recovering from a nasty possibly unfix-able injury. Anywho none of that really matters, this is me saying 'hi' on a larger scale, and, well asking advice at the same time.

As i said in my other post, i'm totally new to the star-gazing scene (hope that's not a term that despised around here, no ill-offense intended). I plan on, as the title states, buy a Celestron – NexStar 5SE, not because i have that larger budget, but because buying online (from the US) is SO much cheaper thanks to the awesome exchange rate (exporters not quite so happy with it). So what i'm curious about, is, is that a decent telescope.

What i want to do with it, is, well gaze upwards, see the rings of Saturn, some detail of Mars, and Jupiter, and see some other galaxy's. Simialrly i want to be able to take pics from it, (although may need a new camera for that...)

If anyone's got one i'd love to hear their opinion, or, if anyone has an opinion of a better telescope to get i'd equally love to hear that too. I have no definite ideas yet, just read a few interesting things about it, seems what i want, but honestly i know bugger all about them...

Thanks for the read

Hawk(danew)
Old 29-07-2008, 09:19 PM
Miaplacidus (Brian)
He used to cut the grass.

G'day Hawk, welcome aboard.