#1  
Old 28-04-2024, 09:06 AM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warrnambool
Posts: 12,521
Photoshop CS2

Hi Guys could someone please tell me if Photoshop CS2 is to old now to activate.

I have it on my desktops and other laptop, and want to install it on another laptop.

It loads fine, and works fine but the 30 day activation screen comes up daily counting down the days i have left, but it wont accept the activation codes.

Is age the problem maybe

And another thing why dose Photoshop Elements 24, the latest version not have a History Brush anymore, that was so handy

Thank You.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-04-2024, 09:31 AM
Garyh's Avatar
Garyh
Amongst the stars

Garyh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Glen Innes, N.S.W.
Posts: 2,883
Hi Leon,
Yeap, you can't activate anything older than cs6 now? .
This is why I like the older software you buy, install and works. No activation or subscriptions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-04-2024, 12:55 PM
Leo.G (Leo)
Registered User

Leo.G is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Lithgow, NSW, Australia
Posts: 602
Bought to own for life, not to pay every month.
Software companies SUCK!
Personally, I'd search for a crack file for the older version (or later even before subscription), run it through a good security scan to make sure it's clean and install that way. But that's me, I refuse to be held to ransom for software.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-04-2024, 02:08 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warrnambool
Posts: 12,521
Thanks Guys, well I will see how to go about this, your suggestion Leo sounds interesting, but then it is pretty old I guess.

Anyway I will do some research on the subject, thank you.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-04-2024, 02:27 PM
Leo.G (Leo)
Registered User

Leo.G is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Lithgow, NSW, Australia
Posts: 602
I have Photoshop 2020, it's genuine but I know of people who have obtained cracked versions free. I think it's the last one that was possible with before the subscription based concept of ripping off customers came into play.
There may be a way to activate your older version without going online, I'll have a look and see if I can find anything.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-04-2024, 03:12 PM
PRejto's Avatar
PRejto (Peter)
Registered User

PRejto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rylstone, NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,409
Read here! It can be done!

https://community.adobe.com/t5/downl.../td-p/10500952
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2024, 07:36 PM
g__day's Avatar
g__day (Matthew)
Tech Guru

g__day is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,817
Hi Leon,

From experience CS2 -> CS4 only works with Windows 7 or 10 - it won't run on Win11!

They will work with under VMWare on a virtual machine running Win10 - tried that myself - VMWare 17 Player is free to download and set up - and it takes about an hour to create a new VM machine running Win 10 from experience.

On Win 10 if the activation servers are giving you hassles - for not existing - then bypass them!

Edit your windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file and add in the following lines to loop the activation servers back to a null address (your C: drive or 127.0.0.1)

add the following lines to the top of your hosts files (which maps internet drives to your PC):

127.0.0.1 activate.adobe.com
127.0.0.1 practivate.adobe.com
127.0.0.1 ereg.adobe.com
127.0.0.1 activate.wip3.adobe.com
127.0.0.1 wip3.adobe.com
127.0.0.1 3dns-3.adobe.com
127.0.0.1 3dns-2.adobe.com
127.0.0.1 adobe-dns.adobe.com
127.0.0.1 adobe-dns-2.adobe.com
127.0.0.1 adobe-dns-3.adobe.com
127.0.0.1 ereg.wip3.adobe.com
127.0.0.1 activate-sea.adobe.com
127.0.0.1 wwis-dubc1-vip60.adobe.com
127.0.0.1 activate-sjc0.adobe.com

Then reboot to refresh and reload your host file and Windows will pick up these mappings.

Finally add your 24 digit registeration code and this should bypass activation against a non existent activation server.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2024, 07:53 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warrnambool
Posts: 12,521
Thank You Mathew, I will take a look at that, I think I might be able to work that out.

Leon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement