Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 24-02-2011, 01:08 AM
Zephod (Luke Williams)

Looking to try my hand at Astrophotography

Hey all I've been an avid amateur since I was a young boy thanks to my father and am now feeling like trying my hand at Astrophotography and need some advice in terms of what telescope to upgrade to. I am currently still using my old Celestron Powerseeker 127 D 127mm Fl 1000mm F/8 as far as i've been told for astrophotography the focal length of a scope is more important correct?

The problem is i've been looking at the Skywatcher BD-200 Ota up until I relised the tube weight is probably a little much for my old German Equatorial mount with the 127mm and was wondering for decent photo's to start I was starting to look at either the 90mm Maksutov-Cassegrain it has a focal length of 1250mm but am thinking the aperture size is probably a little low. Then there is another I've been looking at as well (it's tough to decide haha) is the Skywatcher 130mm Reflector Catadioptric Newtonian design and 1000mm focal length now this has a motorised drive on it but the problem I have with deciding is they state it has a 1000mm focal length but it's specifications say otherwise:

-Diameter: 130mm
-Focal Length: 650mm
-F/ratio: f/5
-Diffraction-limited secondary mirror support
-Paraboloidal (parabolic) primary mirror
-Red Dot Finder for easy locating of celestial objects
-130mm primary mirror collects 30% more light than 114mm, revealing more space treasures with better resolution and brighter image.
-Smooth rack-and-pinion focuser
-Short focal length design, ideal for astrophotography.

Which would be the better option for a beginner to astrophotography the 90mm Maksutov-Cassegrain or the 130mm Skywatcher?

Optical DesignNewtonian Reflector(Parabolic)Lens Material Diameter130mmFocal Length650mmScondary Mirror Diameter34.5mmF/ratioF/5
Old 24-02-2011, 01:49 AM
ballaratdragons (Ken)