Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-02-2011, 04:32 PM
mikesim (Mike)

Just starting out

Hi folks,
I'm a newbie into astronomy and on this forum. I have recently moved out to a farm property around 500m high in Gippsland Vic about 20k's from the nearest town (town lights can be faintly seen in the NW in the distance in the valley). I'm getting a C11 CGEM HD as a first scope as the night (dark) skies here are pretty impressive and will look to setup a permanent observatory (roll back roofed shed?) with pier mount to make it easy to open up and start observing and keep all the stuff easily acccessable. Will do mainly visual first and then plan to get into AP.
I have a line of tall trees (up to 40m high) about 40m to the south of the house and also about about 100m to the west of the property and am thinking of setting up the shed to give me clear views from NW to E (north facing property) and straight up. This allows the shed to be close to the house and in a secure area.
Generally speaking, is this aspect one that gives good views of planets and interesting deep sky or should I move it further out to give me better views facing south and west (making access to the shed a bit harder).
Appreciate your comments.
Old 09-02-2011, 05:22 PM
AG Hybrid (Adrian)
A Friendly Nyctophiliac

Welcome to Ice in Space Mike

Wow a C11 HD on a CGEM what a mad first scope! Well If was going to set up an observatory with imaging in mind. Id like a decent view of the south, because a lot of good stuff is up there. Americans spend many thousands to come and see it. Planets tend to transit slightly north of us located the lower degrees. So those are covered. Id still suggest a good view of the south. Although if your the type that likes to image messier objects, a view of the north is valuable too!

A tough one. Good luck.
Old 09-02-2011, 07:08 PM
barx1963 (Malcolm)
Bright the hawk's flight