Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-02-2015, 01:11 PM
soundscape

Rookie in Melbourne

Hi All!

I'm just starting out in hobby astronomy and wanted to introduce myself, and ask a few beginner questions.

I got my first telescope for Xmas 2013, a Celestron AstroMaster 130 (with standard equatorial mount and accessories), and only had the chance to use it once so far.
I took it out to my folks place in Yarragon, VIC on a pretty clear summer night, but was only about to get pretty ordinary, shaky sightings of Jupiter and Saturn.
I was using the 10mm eyepiece at the time, and I was wondering if I need to buy a sub-10mm eyepiece to get a better view? Or is the shakiness more symptomatic of atmospheric conditions/telescope setup? Any advice would be hugely appreciated.

I was also wondering what you guys can recommend for good viewing spots to the north of Melbourne. I live in Preston and I'd like to get out with the scope more often, so anything within 1-2 hours drive N/NE of Melbourne I'd like to know about.

Thank you guys!
Old 05-02-2015, 01:58 PM
barx1963 (Malcolm)
Bright the hawk's flight

Quote:
Originally Posted by soundscape View Post
Hi All!

I'm just starting out in hobby astronomy and wanted to introduce myself, and ask a few beginner questions.

I got my first telescope for Xmas 2013, a Celestron AstroMaster 130 (with standard equatorial mount and accessories), and only had the chance to use it once so far.
I took it out to my folks place in Yarragon, VIC on a pretty clear summer night, but was only about to get pretty ordinary, shaky sightings of Jupiter and Saturn.
I was using the 10mm eyepiece at the time, and I was wondering if I need to buy a sub-10mm eyepiece to get a better view? Or is the shakiness more symptomatic of atmospheric conditions/telescope setup? Any advice would be hugely appreciated.