Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 06-10-2012, 01:31 AM
matt210 (Matt)

Please help lol

Hi everyone,

I have just joined and am really excited to hopefully learn all new kinds of stuff.

My dilemma is this, a very basic one I know.

What scope should I get to start with?

Now obviously, as a beginner, I would prefer not spend a bucket load of money. I'm trying to look at around the $150, but would possibly go as high as $200.

I would like to do more than just observe the moon, more hoping to try my luck at planets and bright nebulae, if possible of course.
I would have to travel with the scope though, not far, roughly 3-4km's by car, so travelling with the scope also needs to be taken into account.

Hope this isn't to much at once, but I am at the stage where I want to go out a buy one tomorrow, so I can just start
Old 06-10-2012, 03:26 AM
ourkind (Carlos)
There is no substitute

Hi Matt,

let me begin by being one of the first to welcome you to this great site! WELCOME

There will be many here with more experience than I who will surely give you some good advice.

Its always exciting when you decide to buy your first scope but it certainly won't be your last.

Most will advise you (and I agree) to buy a Dobsonian which are really easy to use, simply point anywhere at the sky and look through the viewer. Personally the smalllest you would want to go is 6" in diameter, if you can go larger do it, the larger the diameter the more you see but its more expensive of course

Your budget is a little limiting so you may need to look at ebay, gumtree or even the classifieds section on this site for 2nd hand. I think a good starting point is around $400 (please someone confirm or correct me if i'm wrong).