Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 19-12-2011, 11:54 PM
Luna (Annie)
Chu!

Hi :)

Hey everyone!
I'm a newbie so I thought I'd come introduce myself. I've just finished my first year of science at uni and while I have some time to kill until class starts up, I've begun watching some astronomy lectures on dvd that my Dad lent me. I really wanted to try astronomy at uni but I suck hardcore at maths and physics so I had to stay away from it. I don't really know a thing about it; I'm still trying to learn to recognise constellations I haven't had a chance to have a good star gazing session yet and I don't have any equipment but I'm keen to learn more about it.
Old 19-12-2011, 11:58 PM
Astroman (Andrew Wall)
<><><><>

Welcome to IIS Annie
Old 20-12-2011, 12:14 AM
bartman (Bart)
1 of 7 of 9

Welcome Annie
I hav'nt got the greatest science/mathematical/physics/chemistry background, but hey, we are all equal here on this forum in the fact that if you have a question or want to say something .....just do/ask it!
Constellations you will eventually pick up as you see and observe more and more.
Have a look at some of the threads in regards to being a "cosmologist"...
http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...ad.php?t=83580
This one is a bit full on and lengthy, but have a look anyway......
Cheers
Barman
Old 20-12-2011, 12:17 AM
jjjnettie (Jeanette)

Hi Annie!
Welcome to Ice In Space.
You've come to the right place.
Have you bought a copy of Australian Sky and Telescope yet?
It has a brilliant all sky map that will help you start with the Constellations.
Old 20-12-2011, 12:31 AM
astroron (Ron)
Supernova Searcher

Annie and Just read a few of the begginers threads and you will get an idea as to what you can do .
Just ask away with the Questions ,you can be sure you will get an answer
Cheers
Old 20-12-2011, 05:25 AM
ZeroID (Brent)
Lost in Space ....