Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-10-2005, 09:00 PM
JethroB76 (Jeff)

Question 1st scope question

Hi all, I am after what will be some much valued advice on first scope options for my father.
As I have been lurking for sometime I have come to the conclusion that my first scope will be a Dob, hopefully to be purchased sometime next year, for the time being though I will make do with my 11x70 binos.
Now, my dad is also in the market for a scope but is a little ahead of me and looking to purchase a scope soon, I think. Because I am now an expert , I have suggested that a good starting point for him would also be a Dob, but at this time he has not been convinced. I think reading between the lines that he would prefer a scope on a equatorial? mount. He is wanting to keep his outlay <$1000 and intends to use it for general astronomical use (planetary, DSO etc, visual only).
Opinions for his best bet and perhaps places in Melbourne that he could go to check out such suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated.
Oh yeah, cool site
Old 11-10-2005, 09:06 PM
ballaratdragons (Ken)
The 'DRAGON MAN'

Welcome Isdonisok,

Firstly, let me guess, your name is Don!

Secondly, boy you know how to stsrt an argument: Dob v's EQ v's everything else!!

You will have to show your Dad some scopes on the net and see which one excites him the most. For under $1000 makes the choice a bit narrower but not imposible.

Suss him out and see what his favourite flavour of mount is, and whether he prefers Reflector or SCT design.
Old 11-10-2005, 09:11 PM
davidpretorius
lots of eyes on you!

Hi fellow lonnie person.

I have had a dob 10" for 4 months now and love it.