Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 29-03-2014, 01:50 PM
Monstar (Johnny)

130p ready to go!

I don't know if any of you guys remembered but a couple of weeks ago you helped me decide on the Skywatcher 130p collapsible scope. When I got it home earlier was like a kid at Christmas. I have aligned the RDF and was going to try my first collimation but from what my untrained eye could see it looks spot on out of the box.

It's been raining on and off all week in Brisbane but now looks like its fining up but still a bit cloudy. But as long as the rain keeps away Ill be out probably as soon as it gets dark til sunrise even if for only glimpses.

But I want a little challenge. Please remember I'm totally new at this game (have never even looked through a scope) and only have what came with the package and a couple of free smartphone apps. So could you give me some ideas of things to look for (about what time is best to see them and what they should look like through each EP) and I'll try to hunt them down, may even be able to get a shot through the eyepiece with my iPhone if any come out half decent. It would also help if you let me know which EP 25 or 10mm would be better suited to search each.

Thanks again for all the help, responses and encouragement.
Old 29-03-2014, 02:10 PM
julianh72 (Julian)

Three suggestions for early tonight (clouds permitting) - all easy finds for a newbie - would include:

1. Jupiter - in the north-west
2. Great Nebula in Orion - in the west
3. Jewel Box cluster - in the south, adjacent to the Southern Cross

That's a really good "starter set" - a spectacular planet (you'll see the 4 moons easily, and a couple of dark belts), a large, bright Nebula, and a beautiful cluster.