Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 20-09-2012, 04:01 PM
sus (Susan)

Complete beginner!!!

Hi

I recently got round to getting my first telescope...a celestron astromaster 130eq. I have set it all up and have found the moon(yay good for me)...which even though I thought would be quite easy to find...it took me a while! If anyone has any tips it would be great!

Thanks
Sus
Old 20-09-2012, 04:06 PM
brian nordstrom (As avatar)

Suz , just take your time as astronomy is a life time hobby .. So take your time , learn , read every thing you can , IIS here is a great place and oh yes , and watch out for apateure fever ! .
Brian
Old 20-09-2012, 04:42 PM
stardust steve (Steve)

aboard the starship Ice In Space. You can check in anytime you like but you can never leave

My first telescope was a Celestron 76mm Reflector and i was blown away with what i could see. Moon craters, star clusters and bright Nebula like M42 in Orion
Your 130 eq will serve you well until you succumb to the inevitable apateure fever.
Don't hold back in asking any questions here as i have learnt so much just by surfing the posts from people only too willing to help

Edit- Ipone/Ipad apps like SkySafari and for the PC Stellarium help a lot as they tell you where certain object are in real time. And Skysafari has the compass option so you hold it up to the sky and it will show you on the screen what you are looking at
Old 20-09-2012, 04:47 PM
sus (Susan)

Thanks, I was so excited when I seen the moon and I'm getting better at finding it now! I'm hoping tonight its not to cloudy so I can get out and have another look.
Old 20-09-2012, 04:52 PM
leon

Fantastic Susan, you will have a great hobby to follow and enjoy, and like already said, ask away, there is no such thing as a silly question.

Enjoy the Moon.

Leon
Old 20-09-2012, 05:50 PM
bazaud (Barry)
Learner

Hi Susan,

Beginner here too. I'm finding IIS a great place for info.