Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 14-01-2008, 05:44 AM
sandyinspace

TASCO 40-114675 for Begginners!!!!!!

Hey Guys,
I am a novice and am getting a tasco 40-114675 from one of my frineds. Looking for some information...if somebody can help
1) Is it good for beginners?
2) What all should I look when I get this one (I mean parts/accessories/manual/cd ) as this is a used one
3) My friend is saying last year he paid around $800 usd for this , now the market price is $129 usd is it true?

Any help is appriciated..
Thanks in advance
Old 14-01-2008, 07:30 AM
dannat (Daniel)
daniel

is it the model with GOTO? I think i have seen it new for between $500-600, have not used one but tasco scopes don't have a great reputation, neither do 114mm reflectors
Old 14-01-2008, 08:59 AM
chunkylad (David)
Open up. it's me, Dave...

Hi Sandyinspace andto Ice In Space

Here is a link to several revues of your telescope:
http://excelsis.com/1.0/entry.php?se...12&entryid=252

The concensus of several reviewers is that the optics of the OTA are quite good, the mount, however, leaves a little to be desired.

Let us know what accessories it comes with - what eyepieces etc, and we may be able to steer you in the right direction.

You may be able to obtain some sort of manual from the internet. I found information which may he helpful here: http://www.tasco.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=75

Hope this helps.
Old 14-01-2008, 09:02 AM
CoombellKid

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandyinspace View Post
Hey Guys,
I am a novice and am getting a tasco 40-114675 from one of my frineds. Looking for some information...if somebody can help
1) Is it good for beginners?
2) What all should I look when I get this one (I mean parts/accessories/manual/cd ) as this is a used one
3) My friend is saying last year he paid around $800 usd for this , now the market price is $129 usd is it true?