Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 29-01-2009, 10:14 AM
telecasterguru (Frank)
Have scope will travel!

nebula and the city

I am very new to astronomy and have bought a 10" dob because I thought that it would be a good starting point. (I put an Argo on it but have not mastered it yet)
My problem is that I live almost in the middle of Sydney and as a result light pollution of course is a great problem. I also have a rather small aiming field from my rather small backyard surrounded by high rise and trees.
My main interest is Nebula and so far all I have been able to find is Orion(that's easy cause I can se it without the scope). I have been trying to find M1 and the Flame Nebula without success.
Would this be because of the light pollution.
I am sure that I am looking in the right spot.
I am using a 26mm 2" ep and then going to a 10mm 1.25". Should I get a 32mm ep or larger?
I know that these are a lot of questions but I look forward to any help that I can get.

Thanks
Old 29-01-2009, 10:20 AM
glenc (Glen)
star-hopper

The flame neb and M1 will be difficult from the city. NGC 2070 and NGC 3372 are easier. Low power is fine. A UHC nebula filter will help and get out of town if you can. Palm Beach Golf Course might be good.
Old 29-01-2009, 10:55 AM
lacad01 (Adam)
The sky is Messier here!

I'm in the same boat as I'm in the Inner West and so far have only been able to observe Orion/M42, UHC filter is great. I've had to satisfy myself with observing clusters around the Crux / Centaurus. I was trying to search in vain last night for the Rosette Nebula but the part of the sky between Betelgeuse & Canis Minor was just a wash-out It also didn't help when my neighbour came home and hit the floodlights for his backyard, very difficult for dark adaption at the best of times. If the weather is good this weekend, will hopefully venture out to Crago for a peek.
Old 29-01-2009, 11:05 AM