Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 29-06-2006, 04:45 PM
Jupiter

Questions

I'm relatively new to Astronomy and have recently bought a 10" dob, fantastic scope, however I need some help regarding Deep Sky Objects, how long do you keep them in the fov for?, I have 'found' numerous star clusters and double stars but I am unsure how long I should keep them in the fov to get the most detail.
Secondly I don't know where to look for the dso's, sure I use star charts and have got a basic idea from that but can someone help regarding where they are and how to find?
Also the milky way looks like a treasure trove of stuff to find but what do I look for?
I know these are dumb questions but I gotta start somewhere.
Old 29-06-2006, 05:01 PM
ving (David)
~Dust bunny breeder~

DSOs are everywhere!!!

you are on a star with open clusters... seen any globular clusters?
also when looking for nebulas and the like do not expect to see what you see in pictures. most of them wont have much colour, maybe green but mostly grey... most galaxies show as a grey smear and nothing else.
do your starcharts show DSOs? there are some that do.. there are plenty of programs that will give you starcharts too. i use cartes du ciel (its free just google it)....

gah! so much to tell ya
Old 29-06-2006, 05:02 PM
astroron (Ron)
Supernova Searcher

Hi Jupiter Observing is a skill that you never stop learning, you just get better at it the longer you do it, that being said when you look at an object try and absorb as much as you can then move on to the next object
Get an observing Book such as Hartungs Astronomical Objects For Southern Telescopes, and of course try and get together with other Astronomers and observe together, and also continue to log on to iceinspace and lookout for any Star Parties in your state.
Astronomy is a never ending jurney
Old 29-06-2006, 05:25 PM
mickoking
Vagabond