#1  
Old 01-01-2021, 09:39 PM
Dilsh
Registered User

Dilsh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Ivanhoe
Posts: 15
EQMOD/Stellarium issues

Hey Team,

Happy new year.

I have an issue slewing in Stellarium.

I have ASCOM/EQMOD/APT/Stellarium talking to each other.

The location coordinates are the same in EQMOD and Stellarium.

I turn the mount on (EQ6r pro) and connect it to APT which causes EQMOD to start up. In Stellarium I can see the scope over the south celestial pole.

In APT, when I slew to an object, the scope moves the correct corresponding object in Stellarium.

However, when I slew to an onject in Stellarium, the scope in stellarium and physically moves in the wrong direction.

Not sure what I have done wrong.

Thanks for the help as always.

Cheers,

D
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2021, 10:09 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,638
Looks like your using the planetarium/ Goto function in APT and your co ordinates in APT are northern hemisphere ??
I use APT but as standalone ie: I disable the planetarium function in APT and just use APT to frame , focus and capture ( not Goto ) which works beautifully
If you using EQMOD and Stellarium you donít really need plate solve in APT as syncing stars around the vicinity of your target object will allow you to slew your scope bang on target in the centre of your field of view of your intended object
Connecting APT , EQMOD and Stellarium together just complicates things and is unnecessary
Hope the above helps
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2021, 10:15 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Startrek View Post
Looks like your using the planetarium/ Goto function in APT and your co ordinates in APT are northern hemisphere ??
I use APT but as standalone ie: I disable the planetarium function in APT and just use APT to frame , focus and capture ( not Goto ) which works beautifully
If you using EQMOD and Stellarium you donít really need plate solve in APT as syncing stars around the vicinity of your target object will allow you to slew your scope bang on target in the centre of your field of view of your intended object
Connecting APT , EQMOD and Stellarium together just complicates things and is unnecessary
Hope the above helps
The only app I use with APT is PHD2 guiding where I activate the Dither function which is found in the Gear tab, other than that APT is standalone which works seamlessly for framing , focus and capture
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2021, 07:36 AM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,638
D

Keep it simple for now and just use APT for frame focus and capture
I just read through Point craft in APT and itís a mouthful to learn , you donít really need it at the moment , EQMOD and Stellarium do a great job at Goto and navigation on their own. I been using it for nearly 4 years and it works beautifully ( even after the meridian too , no automated flip , I just Goto the object again on the other side and line it up with exposures comparing it to the previous pre flip exposure, only takes 5 minutes )
So in the planetarium settings just tick None
Just use my EQMOD and Stellarium procedures ( 3 versions depending on your method of connection) I posted about 6 weeks ago and you will find objects easily
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2021, 09:21 AM
Dilsh
Registered User

Dilsh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Ivanhoe
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Startrek View Post
D

Keep it simple for now and just use APT for frame focus and capture
I just read through Point craft in APT and itís a mouthful to learn , you donít really need it at the moment , EQMOD and Stellarium do a great job at Goto and navigation on their own. I been using it for nearly 4 years and it works beautifully ( even after the meridian too , no automated flip , I just Goto the object again on the other side and line it up with exposures comparing it to the previous pre flip exposure, only takes 5 minutes )
So in the planetarium settings just tick None
Just use my EQMOD and Stellarium procedures ( 3 versions depending on your method of connection) I posted about 6 weeks ago and you will find objects easily
Cheers
Hey Martin,

You are right. I do not really need Stellarium. Platesolving is all I really need to frame. Just going down this rabbit hole as I am annoyed about what I have done wrong in Stellarium.

I will disable it and keep it somple .

Cheers,

D
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-2021, 10:50 AM
xa-coupe's Avatar
xa-coupe (Jeff)
Registered User

xa-coupe is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 241
Dlish, I had some issues with Stellarium doing all sorts of weird things, but I persevered, making sure that all the settings (focal length etc) were correct and sooner or later got something right (wish I could remember what it was) and it now works fine.

I use plate solving 99% of the time but I kept on going for two reasons;

1) I like to 'find' things in Stellarium to image and

2) I don't like software beating me.


I'd go through every setting you can find and double/triple check it, the answer is in there somewhere and it'll be in configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2021, 12:05 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,638
D,
Procedures for telescope control with new Ascom Stellarium and EQMOD using EQ direct method with custom EQ cable and EQ direct method using USB2 cable

Cheers
Martin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2021, 12:08 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,638
D,

Here ya go ......

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-01-2021, 01:13 PM
Dilsh
Registered User

Dilsh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Ivanhoe
Posts: 15
Great. Thanks Martin!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement