PDA

View Full Version here: : Opinion's on Meade QX Wide Angle

a1120028
20-06-2007, 06:07 AM
Hi all, I bought a Meade 8" lightbridge as an introduction to astronomy and now would like to experiment with a higher magnification eyepiece.

The scope came with a 26mm Meade QX 4000 series eyepiece. My local retailer sell mainly Meade, where do they scale in quality and value for money as far as eyepieces go.

I've found it to be a little underpowered for what I would like to be looking at but as I'm new to astronomy and don't really know what to buy I thought I'd ask.

wolfman
20-06-2007, 05:58 PM
Im not sure what magnification the 26mm will give you but you will need a GOOD quality wide field of view eyepiece giving around 50X to 60X for the DSO and general viewing, you will use this eyepiece more thany other, and another giving between 100X to 150X for the planets and closer looks to Glob's and Nebula's ect, this would be your minium, Pentax, Televue, Meade 5000 series, and many others will fit the bill.As far as the QX goes I brought one of these and swapped it back to them for a Superwide 5000 the next day, the difference was like chalk and cheese, I could not belive it.

janoskiss
21-06-2007, 11:16 AM
You need several EPs to cover the full range of magnifications from low, i.e. wide field of view, through to high power for close up look at planets, moon, double stars...
The 26mm QX is okay for a low power finder to begin with (although its edge performance is not the best even in the 8" f/6). In addition, you'll also want some higher power EPs and maybe a barlow.

ving
21-06-2007, 12:14 PM
grab a 7mm, 15mm and maybe a 32mm to go with the meade i think would do you... or a 7mm, 32mm and a good barlow.... either way.

rmcpb
21-06-2007, 12:31 PM
The most commonly used eyepieces I use on my 8" f6 are:

33mm Williams Optics SWAN
12.5mm Meade series 4000 plossl
9.7mm Meade series 4000 plossl

I also have a 7.5mm, 5.5mm and a 26mm but would really like to add a 15-20mm.