PDA

View Full Version here: : Whats the best eye piece for deep sky viewing?

astroAJ
14-06-2007, 09:55 PM
Hay every one
I’m really new to astronomy and I hear that 2” eye pieces are great for deep sky viewing.
Whats a good eye piece for observing bright nebulas and globular cluster.
I’m on a tight budget.

At the moment I’m using 1.25 eye pieces and an 8" sky watcher Dob

Please give me some tips and info

Thanks
:help:

Kal
14-06-2007, 09:59 PM
What sort of telescope do you have?

ballaratdragons
14-06-2007, 10:00 PM
25mm EP's in 1.25" are fine for DSO, but your question is which 2"

That could start an argument :lol:

Some will say Nagler, others will say another and so-on.

I say for a 'cheap' 2" EP (you say your on a tight budget) is to hunt down a 2" 32mm Erfle. They can be found in The USA around $150 :thumbsup:

Stephen65
14-06-2007, 11:03 PM
The William Optics SWAN series are widely thought to be excellent value for money, the 2" eps come in 25, 33 and 40mm sizes and are A$169 each. You can get them from Andrews Communications in Sydney and a few other places. They are a seriously good eyepiece by any measure, and especially so at that price.

If your budget doesn't stretch that far then any of the telescope shops will sell you Chinese generic widefield eyepieces at prices starting at about $50 - brand names like GSO, Bintel etc. They are decent eyepieces but will probably show aberrations towards the edge of the field.

ballaratdragons
14-06-2007, 11:10 PM
Wow! That is a good price!

They are fairly good if you don't mind the Seagulls in the outer 1/3rd FOV. I use the 2" GSO 30mm Superview and I can put up with the abberations.

casstony
14-06-2007, 11:33 PM