PDA

View Full Version here: : Does anyone else have an STV ?

montewilson
18-04-2007, 08:42 AM
Guys,
My STV is lonely. It thinks it is the only one in Australia. I keep trying to reassure it there must be others out there just like it but in truth I have never seen anyone here with what must be the best Autoguider/CCD/Live Video Astronomy camera ever made.

I have pointed out to my STV that there are plenty of ST4's in Australia but it gets rather snooty at the mention of the 4 which it regards as quite inferior and "sooooo last century".

Anyway if anyone else has one I would love to share thoughts on it. I have plenty of experience with it.

nightsky
18-04-2007, 09:03 AM
G'Day Monte,
:welcome: I think we have met at Ilford,the name rings a bell,anyway any chance of writing a review on your STV,like the different between models and prices etc.and it's good side and bad side (if any) I for one would be very interested in a review and maybe your STV might not be alone for very long :P
Cheers
Arthur

jase
19-04-2007, 08:47 AM
The SBIG STV was discontinued in March 2006. You can still pick them up reasonably cheap through Astromart.

The ST-402ME is the current successor. KAF-0402ME CCD makes a great autoguider - very sensitive. Not many players are using CMOS due to the lack of sensitivity. Certainly cheaper than CCD, but if performance is what you're after in an autoguider i.e guiding on faint stars, stay away from CMOS.

A new standalone autoguider by SBIG is anticipated in Sept-Oct 2007 timeframe. It is labled as the "Smart" guider and uses a KAI-340 CCD chip. More info can be gathered at http://www.sbig.com/aic2006/AIC2006.PPT

nightsky
20-04-2007, 06:31 AM
G'Day Jase,
Thanks for that info m8,but I was just trying to get Monte to write a review as his camera seemed lonely :( and by writing a review he may have got another member to buy one and join him :P as for me I have a Meade 10" LX 200 GPS and the camera in question is not recommend for that type of scope.