PDA

View Full Version here: : do you backup your computer?

silv
11-10-2016, 03:29 PM
Hey :)

what is everyone using as backup system for their computer setup and/or personal files?

Are you using a software backup tool?
Over Wifi or cable?

Cheers Annette

silv
11-10-2016, 03:35 PM
I'm on a Mac and am very bad with regular backups :o

On a USB drive I have a clone of my Operating System partition, done with Carbon Copy Cloner. It's 6 months old, now :o
CCC is great because it lets me start the computer from that USB drive and actually "fix" things on the internal installation in case anything goes wrong.

I keep important media files on a separate hard drive which is connected to my WiFi router.
Because I am always low on disk space and for now, can't afford more space or better solutions, I keep as many of the most important files as will fit on a second hard drive, as well.

That's it.

I admit I am a very bad girl in this respect.
More so because I used to work in IT for 15 years.

AstralTraveller
11-10-2016, 03:41 PM
I don't worry about system files or software. Installing Linux is so easy it's not worth the bother. All personal files are backed up to the NAS using rsync. My wife also keeps a backup of her work on USB sticks, which live in her handbag. I'm supposed to keep off-site backups using external HDDs but I'm afraid that is somewhat out of date :sadeyes:.

sheeny
11-10-2016, 09:12 PM
I use a 2TB external HDD and SecondCopy software. I used to back up changed files on every shut down, but on upgrading to Windows 10 that became unreliable for some reason, so not back up changed files at 1 and 2 pm each arvo. I backup as a simple copy BTW so I can copy individual files back if I stupidly delete something I shouldn't, or if I have to replace the PC. Easy and simple.

I only backup data files.

Also because astro data tends to take up such a lot of space, each year I burn my raw data to DVD and remove it from the HDD leaving just the finished images.