2014 CWAS David Malin Awards!

At IceInSpace, we love the annual CWAS David Malin Awards.

It's the premier astrophotography competition in Australia, and always challenges our best talent to step outside the ordinary and produce something extraordinary in a chance to win some fantastic prizes offered by Canon Australia. Check out the winning entries in previous David Malin Awards on the CWAS site.

The 2014 DMA's have just been announced, and there's a few nice twists this year. The animated sequences section now has separate categories for scientific and aesthetic animations, and the open theme this year is all about "The Moon" - not just Moon in the landscape, but something unique and different. I'm really looking forward to seeing how creative the community can be and see what they come up with.

Read the announcement below, or head on over to the CWAS site for more information, or to submit your entries!

Hello all,

The Central West Astronomical Society is proud to announce the 2014 CWAS Astrophotography Awards judged by Dr David Malin - the "David Malin Awards".

Entry submissions will be accepted from Tuesday, 1 April 2014, and will close at mid-night on Sunday, 1 June 2014 (AEST).

The theme for this year's Open Themed Section is "The Moon". We are seeking innovative and imaginative images of the Moon itself, in any of its phases and guises. The images can be either wide-field or high-resolution. The intention is to encourage people with vision, imagination and creativity to capture the wonder and awe that our nearest celestial neighbour inspires in the minds and hearts of people the world over.

A new category has been added this year to the Animated sequences. We also encourage entrants to consider entering the 2014 Australian Gemini Astronomy Contest.

For more information on the competition, the conditions of entry and to access the submissions page, see the following web site:


The 2014 CWAS "David Malin Awards" are proudly supported by CSIRO's Astronomy and Space Sciences, Canon Australia and the Powerhouse Museum.

Canon Australia continues to support the awards with the major prize this year being the Canon EOS 5D Mark III with 24-70mm f/2.8L lens.

Regards, John Sarkissian
2014 CWAS "David Malin Awards"

Good luck!

NexDome Observatories
Limpet Controller
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Copyright © 2004-2022 ICEINSPACE.
All rights reserved.