Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Software and Computers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 10-04-2021, 01:29 PM
bluesilver (Peter)
Registered User

bluesilver is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Australia, Tasmania
Posts: 225
Is it possiblet o run a Skyatcher Dobsonian goto with laptop only?

Hi, Just working on a bit of a project.
What i am trying to do is run a Skywatcher Dobsonian that has goto via a laptop only, eliminating the hand controller.

I have this setup working great on a Skywatcher AZ-EQ6 mount, but that is a different thing all together.

So basically is it at all possible to do this?

The hand controller is the version that has the USB in the hand controller
I want to be able if possible run ASCOM, driving APT, Satllerium, PHD2

I am not sure if it is possible or not though.
So basically for now without out going into too much detail, just looking to see if it is possible or not?

Any information would be appreciated.
Thanks.
Peter.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2021, 03:37 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,336
Peter,
Your dobs handcontroller operates in AZ mode only, like my 12Ē Goto dob
Iím sure Ascom Stellarium only was only designed to operate in equatorial mode to replace the handcontroller in EQ mounts
This is the case for EQMOD and Stellarium ( only Skywatcher EQ mounts )
Iím also sure that PHD2 is only designed for EQ mounts as well

Maybe other folk can chime in and answer your query with more detail

Also Iíve heard folk control their Az dobs with a Raspberry Pi set up

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2021, 03:47 PM
bluesilver (Peter)
Registered User

bluesilver is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Australia, Tasmania
Posts: 225
Thanks for the reply,
Yes i figured tis might be the case, was trying to see if it was possible or not.
I see there is a usb port on the hand controller that is the same as the one on the AZ-EQ6 mount, but this runs through the hand controller, so not sure if that would work.
The hand control port on the mount is a 6 pin RJ-12, where the one on the AZ-EQ6 is a 8 pin RJ-45 going by the book.

The idea was to connect straight into the 6 pin RJ-12 and to the pc.

Will keep searching for some information, but i guess the biggest thing is the way the two mounts are setup, AZ-EQ6 pointing directly at the scp, where the goto mount are setup facing south but tube sitting level.

Will be an interesting project if i can get it all to work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-04-2021, 03:53 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluesilver View Post
Thanks for the reply,
Yes i figured tis might be the case, was trying to see if it was possible or not.
I see there is a usb port on the hand controller that is the same as the one on the AZ-EQ6 mount, but this runs through the hand controller, so not sure if that would work.
The hand control port on the mount is a 6 pin RJ-12, where the one on the AZ-EQ6 is a 8 pin RJ-45 going by the book.

The idea was to connect straight into the 6 pin RJ-12 and to the pc.

Will keep searching for some information, but i guess the biggest thing is the way the two mounts are setup, AZ-EQ6 pointing directly at the scp, where the goto mount are setup facing south but tube sitting level.

Will be an interesting project if i can get it all to work.
I definitely have seen guys on YouTube clips control their dobs from a laptop ( Rasberry Pi controller)
Yes EQ movement uses declination ( Dec) and right ascension ( Ra ) to track
Ax uses azimuthaland altitude co ordinates to track
Totally different
Also PHD2 uses Dec and Ra movement to keep the mounts axis locked onto the guide Star
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-04-2021, 05:40 PM
Outcast's Avatar
Outcast (Carlton)
Always gonna be a NOOB...

Outcast is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cairns, Qld
Posts: 1,152
I used Stellarium scope add-on a few years ago to control a Meade LX90 (fork mount Alt/Az)...

Did a bit of a google & it would seem the new version of Stellarium (which doesn't require the add-on 'should' be able to control a Synscan mount in either Alt/Az or EQ mode...

Just had a quick look in Stellarium... under tools, plugins is Telescope control... under mount compatibility (I think) there was an entry for a Synscan AZ mount...

I suspect that you would select that & it 'should' then work on your Dob..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2021, 06:27 PM
bluesilver (Peter)
Registered User

bluesilver is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Australia, Tasmania
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outcast View Post
I used Stellarium scope add-on a few years ago to control a Meade LX90 (fork mount Alt/Az)...

Did a bit of a google & it would seem the new version of Stellarium (which doesn't require the add-on 'should' be able to control a Synscan mount in either Alt/Az or EQ mode...

Just had a quick look in Stellarium... under tools, plugins is Telescope control... under mount compatibility (I think) there was an entry for a Synscan AZ mount...

I suspect that you would select that & it 'should' then work on your Dob..
Thanks for the info, I didn't even think to look into that part of Stellarium, I have the latest version of it.
Wil take a look at that.
Appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement