#1  
Old 01-03-2021, 01:41 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,662
Camera for NexDome Obs

Id like to install a camera in my new NexDome Obs to periodically check how things are going during an imaging session ( not for security purposes )
I have a spare Ethernet cable from Dome to house ( 30m length ) to use for this system
I only need a live view feed and not necessarily recorded video
Just require the following info -
Camera type and model
Connection information
Any ancillary equipment required
Laptop is running Windows 10 home
Software required to operate the camera
Any other information I should be aware of
I have mains 230v power at both ends ( Done and house locations )
Appreciate any advice on the above
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2021, 03:34 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,662
Hmm......
Does anyone have a camera in their Obs ?
Appreciate any advice , recommendations
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2021, 04:07 PM
AdamJL
Registered User

AdamJL is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 609
Just use the built in Windows 10 camera app. Buy a webcam, which will be detected by the app.

The remote into the PC via the Remote Desktop app (Windows Store) and launch the camera app, and you can see what it sees.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2021, 05:11 PM
AstroJunk's Avatar
AstroJunk (Jonathan)
Shadow Chaser

AstroJunk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Samford
Posts: 1,828
I've used various cameras over the years. Beware of security cameras though as they often have built in IR floods to see in the night - your imaging runs will be trashed by them.

Conversely, a dark observatory isn't going to let you see anything of real interest, so I have remote power switching capability to allow me to turn the lights on should I want a look-see remotely. Only ever used if I have to home the scope, which occasionally goes wrong with the EQ8 for some reason, and a cheap web-cam provides the view.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2021, 05:15 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamJL View Post
Just use the built in Windows 10 camera app. Buy a webcam, which will be detected by the app.

The remote into the PC via the Remote Desktop app (Windows Store) and launch the camera app, and you can see what it sees.
No Remote Desktop capability in Windows 10 home , only in Windows 10 Pro
I use Win 10 home
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2021, 05:16 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by AstroJunk View Post
I've used various cameras over the years. Beware of security cameras though as they often have built in IR floods to see in the night - your imaging runs will be trashed by them.

Conversely, a dark observatory isn't going to let you see anything of real interest, so I have remote power switching capability to allow me to turn the lights on should I want a look-see remotely. Only ever used if I have to home the scope, which occasionally goes wrong with the EQ8 for some reason, and a cheap web-cam provides the view.
Thanks Jonathan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2021, 05:29 PM
AstroJunk's Avatar
AstroJunk (Jonathan)
Shadow Chaser

AstroJunk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Samford
Posts: 1,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by Startrek View Post
No Remote Desktop capability in Windows 10 home , only in Windows 10 Pro
I use Win 10 home
TeamViewer. Free for personal use
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2021, 05:34 PM
AdamJL
Registered User

AdamJL is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 609
Yep. TeamViewer, or tbh, just upgrade to Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-03-2021, 09:47 PM
jamespierce (James)
Registered User

jamespierce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 310
I use a nest camera in mine. Works well.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14-03-2021, 11:30 AM
Karlz's Avatar
Karlz (Karl)
Registered User

Karlz is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Lake Macquarie
Posts: 144
https://softwareg.com.au/

You can go here and get a Windows 10 pro key for $15, did that for one computer as it was Windows home.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement