ANZAC Day
Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Astrophotography
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-03-2015, 05:10 PM
Aussie_Dave

Xbox 360 Webcam Planetary & Lunar Imaging

Hi all. I couldn't seem to find any topics or content on using an Xbox 360 webcam with the search feature here. I used many different search options but it can up with none. Surely someone here is using an Xbox 360 webcam to image? But anyway...

I'm just starting out and just received a used Xbox 360 Live Vision version 1.0 webcam (the white one) and was wondering how to mod it and also what program to run with it.

I tested it using VLC Media Player and it seemed to go well, although a little slow on maximum resolution (7 fps). I would have stuck with VLC as it seemed to have many options to adjust the video but found that some options didn't work and while altering some of the options VLC freezes and I have to do the Ctrl Alt + Del to close it down. So that's off the cards which is a shame.

If someone could let me know a suitable program to run it with and possible some mod pages, that would be great, thanks.

Dave.
Old 11-03-2015, 05:22 PM
raymo

I've never heard of that particular webcam, but have you tried downloading the latest drivers for it. It might work o.k. with VCL
then.
raymo
Old 11-03-2015, 05:32 PM
Aussie_Dave

I just downloaded the driver from MS Raymo on setup, it did it automatically. I think it's VLC as I have the occasional hiccup playing videos. I'm also running a basic netbook with XP and 1GB ram so I don't think that's helping either. I'd like to use VLC because of all the video options.

The webcam is the small square white one with a grey focus ring that people received with the white Xbox 360 years ago, probably the original webcam for 360.

I'll just check drivers and VLC version...

VLC latest version.