Old 27-09-2021, 02:49 PM
Stephane

Mount advice - NEQ6 or CGEM?

Hi all,

Beginner here again. I had decided to purchase a new NEQ6 mount ($1,999), however some second-hand mounts might present a better option.

I see an old CGEM mount is currently selling at $700 (not sure if cables are inlcuded). I have no idea what to look out for other than both mounts support a similar load. My goal is to guide with PHD2 and eventually one day automate my imagaing using ASIair. I know, ambitious for a complete beginner, but just trying to look ahead to the future without having to constantly upgrade and fork out extra money.

What specs do I need to look out for? Any help would be really appreciated!

Cheers,
Stéphane
Old 28-09-2021, 12:44 AM
neurosis3000 (Reggie)

If you intend to use the ASIair you will have a much easier time with the NEQ6 and EQMOD than the Celestron.
Old 28-09-2021, 07:39 AM
Stephane

Quote:
Originally Posted by neurosis3000 View Post
If you intend to use the ASIair you will have a much easier time with the NEQ6 and EQMOD than the Celestron.
Thanks for replying Reggi, that’s good to know.
Old 28-09-2021, 08:13 AM
Emuhead (Andrew)

ASIAir makes the whole process so much easier. Highly recommend as a new imager to consider getting one up front for an easier time. I use one myself and it changed the game for me.
Old 28-09-2021, 08:28 AM
Stephane

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emuhead View Post
ASIAir makes the whole process so much easier. Highly recommend as a new imager to consider getting one up front for an easier time. I use one myself and it changed the game for me.
Thanks Andrew. I might request that as my next wedding anniversary present
Old 28-09-2021, 08:49 AM
Emuhead (Andrew)

lol, theres no end to how much one can spend in this hobby, so safe option is just set a budget & determine best bang-for-buck gear from there. Enjoy the process
Old 28-09-2021, 09:07 AM
Dave882 (David)

Quote:
Originally Posted by neurosis3000 View Post