Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Old 15-05-2021, 10:50 AM
h0ughy (David)

How can you more accurately track the moon without guiding?

Was wondering if the losmandy Gemini v1 can more accurately track the moon without just leaving it in lunar mode?

For that matter the same would apply to my eq8?
Old 16-05-2021, 07:07 PM
Camelopardalis (Dunk)
Drifting from the pole

EQMod for the EQ8 has lunar tracking mode.

I’m not sure if Gem1 does...but you can change the tracking rate in Gemini.net control panel.
Old 20-05-2021, 05:53 AM
Startrek (Martin)

I’ve been using EQMOD for quite a few years now for Goto and Nav and the lunar tracking rate works well on the moon ( I’m still using a DSLR for lunar and planetary imaging with BYEOS on planetary mode as my capture software )
A skywatcher EQ8 mount will run on EQMOD together with your planetarium like Stellarium or CDC . I use Stellarium which again it very accurate)
Old 20-05-2021, 08:43 AM
h0ughy (David)

Probably left it too late to learn how to do everything Now but will keep it in mind
Old 21-05-2021, 05:17 PM
Camelopardalis (Dunk)
Drifting from the pole

Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ughy View Post
Probably left it too late to learn how to do everything Now but will keep it in mind
Dave, if you’re using the handset on the EQ8, doing a GOTO to the Moon will automatically select Lunar tracking rate.
Old 21-05-2021, 07:18 PM
h0ughy (David)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camelopardalis View Post
Dave, if you’re using the handset on the EQ8, doing a GOTO to the Moon will automatically select Lunar tracking rate.
i have placed all my eggs on the titan50 basket at the moment in the dome, however i am willing to travel west if need be to get clear skies so would use the eq8 then if that was the case
Old 26-05-2021, 09:11 AM
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator