#1  
Old 09-04-2021, 05:30 PM
gb44 (Glenn)
Registered User

gb44 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 189
DSLR Camera fault advice please

Hi
My Canon 50D threw up a fault last session and I dont seem to be able to correct it. The darks have a bright zone on 30% of the LHS of each capture. The sensor and shutter look normal and I did update the firmware. It occurs in telescope and on the desk with lens cap and viewer cover.
Pictures attached.
Any ideas please?

TIA
GlennB
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Off camera.jpg)
5.5 KB20 views
Click for full-size image (Stretched.jpg)
7.2 KB21 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2021, 05:40 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,437
That looks like faulty electronics...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2021, 05:51 PM
gb44 (Glenn)
Registered User

gb44 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 189
Dslr

Thanks... Back to Canon or trash...
It occurs on all ISO and tests through to 30s. Certainly there on 180s
GlennB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2021, 06:39 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,437
If Canon service can't or won't help (for reasonable price), try Canon repair blog:
https://canonrepair.wordpress.com/
There are some capable people there :-)
Sometimes you can find replacement parts on ebay.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2021, 08:33 PM
gb44 (Glenn)
Registered User

gb44 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 189
Dslr

Thanks Bojan.

It might be alright - I replaced the power supply with a battery and the faults' gone. So maybe its just a power issue and I'll need a new 12v power supply...

GlennB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2021, 06:40 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,437
That is very possible.. and good outcome - power supply DC voltage is not DC any more.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-04-2021, 09:50 AM
JA
.....

JA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by gb44 View Post
Thanks Bojan.

It might be alright - I replaced the power supply with a battery and the faults' gone. So maybe its just a power issue and I'll need a new 12v power supply...

GlennB
Hi Glen,

As Bojan has said: that's a great / lucky outcome, but with suspect DC from your supply. It wouldn't hurt if you have an electronics savvy friend, just to check the output of your existing power supply for any non DC funny stuff

Best
JA

Last edited by JA; 11-04-2021 at 11:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-04-2021, 10:14 AM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 11,390
Hey glen that same sort of thing happened to me, I had a power supply attached so i could take heaps of frames and it cracked it and died, it is still stuffed.
It seems they are very touchy when it comes to power needs.

Leon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement