#1  
Old 15-11-2021, 01:17 AM
Drac0 (Mark)
Registered User

Drac0 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Nowra, NSW
Posts: 137
Modding my 40D - which filter?

Decided to attempt to astro mod my old Canon 40D, just removing the LPF-2 filter. Now this will be used with both my telescopes & camera lenses so I'm looking for suggestions for the best clip filter to get that can work with both - an L-Pro, a CLS-CDD or something else - for someone on a budget?


Generally it will used in bortle 5 or better skies, don't have to drive too far to get to bortle 2 or 3 skies. Mostly capture nebula with the occasion star cluster or galaxy.


Or should I just forget a filter?


Cheers,
Mark.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-11-2021, 09:25 AM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 8,598
Mark,
I found with my mod (FULL full spectral mod - both filters removed.) that I needed a clip in filter to allow standard camera lenses to come to infinity focus.
I went for an Astronomik clear filter.
Works for me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-11-2021, 10:40 AM
Drac0 (Mark)
Registered User

Drac0 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Nowra, NSW
Posts: 137
Thanks Ken.

As I understand I will likely need an UV/IR blocking filter, light pollution isn't a real issue for me so at this stage I don't think a CLS type filter would be needed. Looking at perhaps an Astronomik L-2 UV+IR Blocking Luminance Filter. Can't seem to find them in Oz so may have to get one elsewhere...


https://www.firstlightoptics.com/uv-...eos_aps-c.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-11-2021, 11:15 AM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 8,598
Mark,
The remaining filter is a very effective UV-IR filter.
Iíll upload the transmission curves later.
Ken
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (canon filter mod.jpg)
40.4 KB7 views
Click for full-size image (751889598_Canon1000frontfilterdata.JPG)
117.2 KB8 views

Last edited by Merlin66; 15-11-2021 at 11:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-11-2021, 11:58 AM
Drac0 (Mark)
Registered User

Drac0 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Nowra, NSW
Posts: 137
Thanks Ken, your advice is appreciated. The LPF-1 looks like it lets the Ha through well - any issue on the UV end I should be aware of? I'll try to track down a clear clip filter but like most they seem scarce in Oz right now.


Cheers,
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-11-2021, 02:59 PM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 8,598
Mark,
The UV cut off is close to the 400nm - no issues there.
Remember you only need a clip in filter if you intend to use standard camera lenses at infinity, with a telescope, you're good to go.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-11-2021, 06:28 PM
Drac0 (Mark)
Registered User

Drac0 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Nowra, NSW
Posts: 137
Will be using it with my lenses as well, so need something it seems.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-11-2021, 02:34 PM
Drac0 (Mark)
Registered User

Drac0 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Nowra, NSW
Posts: 137
Just checking...

With nothing but clouds & rain over the next week or so I've decided it's time to bite the bullet & possibly kill my old 40D. Now if I follow this guide from Life Pixel to remove the filter shown (but not replace it with anything), I should be right?
https://www.lifepixel.com/tutorials/...s/canon-40d-ir


https://www.lifepixel.com/wp-content...utorial-19.jpg


I'm not *TOO* worried if I screw it up as I have my 70D to fall back on & I'll just hold off & get a dedicated camera, but want to double check before I begin.


Cheers,
Mark.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-11-2021, 02:57 PM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 8,598
Mark,


there are other tutorials on the web, basically saying the same thing - watch for dust and faulty connections.
The third last image showing the physical removal of the blue filter - the filter it's said usually breaks!
http://dslrmodifications.com/rebelmod450d4.html
The attached images show the anti dust/shake front filter I also had removed to extend the spectroscope wavelength coverage.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (canonfilter 002.JPG)
40.7 KB3 views
Click for full-size image (canonfilter 003.JPG)
37.5 KB4 views
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25-11-2021, 03:36 PM
Drac0 (Mark)
Registered User

Drac0 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Nowra, NSW
Posts: 137
Quote:
The attached images show the anti dust/shake front filter I also had removed to extend the spectroscope wavelength coverage.
Don't confuse me Ken, I'm still trying to deal with just removing the blue filter...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28-11-2021, 09:49 PM
Drac0 (Mark)
Registered User

Drac0 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Nowra, NSW
Posts: 137
Killed it...


Error 99 so I stuffed something somewhere. Ah well, I tried...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29-11-2021, 10:21 AM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 8,598
Bumma!!!!!
Have you tried reconnecting all the connections???
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 29-11-2021, 10:58 AM
Drac0 (Mark)
Registered User

Drac0 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Nowra, NSW
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin66 View Post
Bumma!!!!!
Have you tried reconnecting all the connections???
Yeah, still no go. Will put it in away for now & maybe revisit in a few weeks.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-12-2021, 04:01 PM
ChrisV's Avatar
ChrisV (Chris)
Registered User

ChrisV is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,602
I just put a baader UV/IR cut filter in my 450D (previously had no filter in there). It didn't work when I put it back together. Just retrace your steps and check all the connectors have been pushed all the way in. I found one of the connectors was not pushed in far enough - that was enough to stop it from working. On dslrmodifications, there are also some videos - I found themuseful with a few of the connectors. Wasn't sure whether they were clip or just push-in connectors.

Chris
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
canon, dslr cameras, filters, modified

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement