Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Software and Computers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 06-05-2022, 08:10 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,568
Upgrade from W'7 to W'10.. strange thing happened

For some reason I decided to for it.. and I am still not sure if this was the good idea.


My Lenovo G570 was running w'7 Home edition sort of OK, with some issues..
After upgrade, all looked well, all apps were still there and working OK as far as I could see..
But today, there was a new pending upgrade offered, and I went for it.

First, after quite some spend in "configuring Windows", my login password was consistently refused as "incorrect".
So I powered the lap down and ON again.
This time password was accepted, but I couldn't recognize my own lap..

Familiar task bar content disappeared, to be replaced with only cpiple of apps..
Some icons/shortcuts from old login were still on the desktop, but some of them refused to work and some apps wanted to be re-installed..

Almost as if the system allocated new user with old password?
What happened here?


I am not panicking because this lap was not used a lot, but I still have some applications without original installation disks.. not to mention passwords in Firefox (all gone), as well as email app (Thunderbird, all my all emails are also gone).

Any ideas what caused this?
Thanks in advance!
Bojan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2022, 05:30 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,568
After 3rd manual power up.. everything seem to be OK as before ???
Except I still can't change the screen brightness... buttons are changing bar indicators, but actual brightness stays around the middle position..

Last edited by bojan; 07-05-2022 at 05:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2022, 05:51 AM
mura_gadi's Avatar
mura_gadi (Steve)
SpeakingB4Thinking

mura_gadi is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Canberra
Posts: 609
checked to see what display driver is being used?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2022, 06:32 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by mura_gadi View Post
checked to see what display driver is being used?
System says "the best driver already used".
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2022, 06:55 AM
mura_gadi's Avatar
mura_gadi (Steve)
SpeakingB4Thinking

mura_gadi is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Canberra
Posts: 609
When you click on start - Under the icons on the right of the pop up window there may be a slide bar for brightness. Otherwise - Settings - System - Display.

If your monitor came with a CD-ROM, web address etc to download drivers, you might have to reinstall them again.

*Due the nature of some web browsers to burn images into old monitors with the white trim on the apps display bar, controlling brightness is a real bugbear!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2022, 07:53 AM
floyd_2's Avatar
floyd_2 (Dean)
Registered User

floyd_2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cecil Hills (Sydney)
Posts: 400
I guess it's possible that your laptop doesn't have all drivers available to support Windows 10. We have one like that. It's one of those ones where you can remove the screen and the screen becomes an android tablet leaving the base as a Windows machine that you can plug an HDMI monitor into. We tried upgrading it to Windows 10, and that functionality was impossible to get going. It turned out that the driver only supported Windows 8 and no higher. So back to Windows 8 we went, and we suffer that operating system on that machine to this day.

Take a look on the Lenovo website to see if you can find the drivers for your machine and see what OS they support. There might still be a chance. Windows will probably be using a generic driver. If you find the right driver for Win10 on the Lenovo site, try installing it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2022, 10:13 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by floyd_2 View Post
...
Take a look on the Lenovo website to see if you can find the drivers for your machine and see what OS they support. There might still be a chance. Windows will probably be using a generic driver. If you find the right driver for Win10 on the Lenovo site, try installing it.

Already, did that, package refuses to install (it seems it is for w'7 only ?).
This also means there are no battery power saving settings (previously functional in w'7).
The only thing I can say about this, I was warned.

Before installing w'10, the installer app mentioned there may be display driver issues. For some reason I hoped the issue was solved in the meantime (laptop is from 2011).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 06:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement