Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Software and Computers

Old 01-10-2021, 10:53 AM
Stephane

“His Majesty” Pixinsight

Hi all,

I am new to the Astrophotography world. Will be purchasing a rig in the coming months and am taking time to learn as much as I can before starting. I hear there is much processing software such as photoshop, Gimp, and Pixinsight.

I often read expressions such as “His Majesty” Pixinsight, insinuating a clear superiority over other processing software.

Do many of you use Pixinsight? Is it worth the money? In other words: can the same results be achieved on free software such as Gimp? If I go with Pixinsight, any recommended tutorials? (I hear the learning curve is quite steep). I am currently leaning towards purchasing Pixinsight once I get my rig and free trial expires, as I hear nothing but praise about it.

Many thanks for your comments
Stéphane

Last edited by Stephane; 01-10-2021 at 12:47 PM.
Old 01-10-2021, 12:30 PM
AdamJL

I just purchased it.

For what it’s worth, I have the following on my editing PC and have used them all or am learning them:
Photoshop CC (been using Photoshop since at least 2004)
StarTools (started using last year)
PixInsight (started using yesterday!
SiriL (used for about a month or two)

Photoshop is, IMO, the easiest to come to grips with. Not because I’ve been using it for years but the interface follows more common conventions in software design. For example, with PixInsight, you will be confronted with sub windows in their corners that have triangles, squares, circles, ticks and crosses. Some of them you click, others you drag onto your image. Which one do you select? Why? It’s not straight forward at all. It will take learning before their way of doing things makes sense (have a look at an early Dylan Odonnel tutorial on PI to see what I mean. He says the same things I do… PI’s user interface is a mess)