#1  
Old 29-09-2021, 03:24 PM
Stephane
Registered User

Stephane is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Preston, Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 94
USB2EQ6 cable

Hi all,

If a buy a EQ6-R pro mount, will I also need to buy a cable to connect to my laptop? Does such a cable come with the mount? If I do need to buy one, are “off-the-shelf” ones at Bunnings okay, or does it need to be a dedicated USB2EQ6 cable from an astronomy shop?

Cheers,
Stéphane
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-09-2021, 03:43 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney and South Coast NSW
Posts: 4,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephane View Post
Hi all,

If a buy a EQ6-R pro mount, will I also need to buy a cable to connect to my laptop? Does such a cable come with the mount? If I do need to buy one, are “off-the-shelf” ones at Bunnings okay, or does it need to be a dedicated USB2EQ6 cable from an astronomy shop?

Cheers,
Stéphane
Here’s the procedure to cable connect to an EQ6-R mount ( or any Skywatcher EQ mount ) and run EQMOD and Stellarium to navigate across the night sky

NB: EQ6-R came in 2 models ( I have both old and new ) old ones only have the handcontroller RJ45 port to connect your cable and the newer ones have an additional USB B port to connect your cable to

Any queries please advise

I’ll also send procedures for setting up the tripod and mount plus finding true south

I put these procedures together a while back and have posted to many other IIS members as well
Always glad to help
Just to advise , my methods are not the “only way” to set up your rig , but they do work and work well

More to follow....on another post

Cheers
Martin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-09-2021, 03:50 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney and South Coast NSW
Posts: 4,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Startrek View Post
Here’s the procedure to cable connect to an EQ6-R mount ( or any Skywatcher EQ mount ) and run EQMOD and Stellarium to navigate across the night sky

NB: EQ6-R came in 2 models ( I have both old and new ) old ones only have the handcontroller RJ45 port to connect your cable and the newer ones have an additional USB B port to connect your cable to

Any queries please advise

I’ll also send procedures for setting up the tripod and mount plus finding true south

I put these procedures together a while back and have posted to many other IIS members as well
Always glad to help
Just to advise , my methods are not the “only way” to set up your rig , but they do work and work well

More to follow....on this post

Cheers
Martin
Stephane

Here’s some more procedures....

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-09-2021, 03:56 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney and South Coast NSW
Posts: 4,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Startrek View Post
Stephane

Here’s some more procedures....

Martin
And finally a few more .....

Cheers
Martin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-09-2021, 04:02 PM
Stephane
Registered User

Stephane is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Preston, Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Startrek View Post
And finally a few more .....

Cheers
Martin
Wow Martin, I think I have a little reading to do! Thank you so much, that will be mightily helpful. I downloaded Stellarium and am impressed with the plugins. Can’t wait to see what it can do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement