Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Software and Computers
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 22-08-2021, 10:21 PM
Startrek (Martin)

NINA Polar Alignment Routine

I just watched a few YouTube clips on the latest NINA polar alignment routine where you don’t require a view of the pole
It uses plate solving to identify 3 alignment stars in which to perform Star centering via Altitude and Azimuthal iterations to reduce your error down to acceptable polar alignment
This so called new alternative method of polar alignment by NINA is suppose to be a game changer for people who have no view of the Pole

A lot of folk are probably not aware but Synta ( Skywatcher, Orion etc... ) originally developed this type of polar alignment routine with their Syncan hand controllers approximately 15 years ago
I’ve been using the Syncan Polar Alignment Routine for 5 years ( V3 and V4 ) as I have no view of the Pole
I can usually be polar aligned in 5 to 10 minutes below an arc minute using 2 to 3 iterations.Like everything the more you use it the quicker it becomes.

So the NINA PA routine whilst being an excellent method to polar align without a view of the pole , certainly isn’t a “new” alternative method , it’s probably taken the principles of the original Syncan method and some added plate solving

Comments welcome
Old 22-08-2021, 10:44 PM
AdamJL

Hi Martin

I’m not sure who’s saying it’s a new method, it’s just new to NINA (the previous in-built routine was sketchy at best)

I’ve given it a go and it’s as accurate as my Polemaster which says a lot because that thing is very very accurate.

I will likely use it occasionally for those times when the south is obscured by clouds and I want to setup quickly but whilst I have the PM I’ll stick to that for now (though one less device and cable is good too!!)

It was briefly discussed in the NINA thread as well btw

https://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/...84#post1527884
Old 23-08-2021, 10:37 AM
rustigsmed (Russell)