#1  
Old 28-04-2021, 07:25 PM
SB (Chris)
Registered User

SB is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW
Posts: 68
Flats in Mono Imaging

The previous post led me to a question I never thought of before (especially as I am thinking about going to Mono):

Question: Do Flats need to be taken for each narrow band filter (using OSC I have used the same Flats for everything and not changed them for 12 months).

Thanks in advance.

Chris.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-04-2021, 07:47 PM
The_bluester's Avatar
The_bluester (Paul)
Registered User

The_bluester is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kilmore, Australia
Posts: 2,974
Yes, you flats for each filter as the dust bunnies and possibly vignetting will be different between them, and any time you change the camera angle you need a new set too (Unless maybe you are using a smallish refractor and rotating the entire scope in rings to change camera angle)


I normally shoot flats for each session. That is particularly required if you pull anything apart in the image train between sessions as dust bunnies can change session to session.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement