#1  
Old 02-12-2021, 11:50 AM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney and South Coast NSW
Posts: 4,315
ZWO EAF Focuser intermittent connection

The last 2 nights of imaging ( back in early September by the way ) my relatively new EAF focuser had intermittent connection problems but eventually connected after 15 minutes
I just use it with a hand controller
So did the usual checks , replace cables , replace USB 5V power etc...
When I held the handcontroller away from my laptop workstation it worked fine and when I sat it next to my Laptop , it played up
Now coming from an electrical engineering background , I just put it down to some extra low voltage interference induced in the unshielded cables or itís picking up some spurious signal coming from the laptop.
Tried the same thing again , sat hand controller next to the laptop , again intermittent connection ( it emits an audible tone to tell you itís connected) tone kept emitting off and on.
Moved hand controller away 1 metre and connects perfectly fine
All I can put in down to is some induced electrical interference as there are mixed voltages in and around the laptop ( 230V mains , 12V DC and probably other voltages )
I may have to buy shielded cables which really should be grounded to be affective against electromagnetic induction of voltage. This seems extreme though
Anyone else experience similar issues with the ZWO EAF with hand controller set up
By the way my cable ( 4 x TRRS 3.5mm audio ) is 5m long ( might be part of the problem a well ?? )
Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2021, 01:56 PM
Pepper (Steve)
Registered User

Pepper is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Daruka
Posts: 363
Is the 4 segment plug plugged ALL the way in.
I find with mine it kinda clicks when it seats properly.

I use a 3m extension with mine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2021, 02:10 PM
AdamJL
Registered User

AdamJL is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,127
What laptop? Some laptops can run on 12V but really shouldn’t. You won’t know until they start doing weird things. Could have been a problem long in the making.
Undervolting a laptop can cause problems… maybe like producing weird magnetic fields that interfere with other devices
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2021, 03:06 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney and South Coast NSW
Posts: 4,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepper View Post
Is the 4 segment plug plugged ALL the way in.
I find with mine it kinda clicks when it seats properly.

I use a 3m extension with mine.
Thanks for replying
Mines seated properly, otherwise the audible tone wouldnít alert you
I also did a multimeter resistance check to ensure each of the four segment and wires had continuity end to end
I think itís funny stuff going on with induced voltages and the like
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2021, 03:07 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney and South Coast NSW
Posts: 4,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamJL View Post
What laptop? Some laptops can run on 12V but really shouldnít. You wonít know until they start doing weird things. Could have been a problem long in the making.
Undervolting a laptop can cause problemsÖ maybe like producing weird magnetic fields that interfere with other devices
Thanks for replying
Laptop is mains powered 230V
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement