Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Software and Computers

Old 16-03-2021, 08:50 AM
bluesilver (Peter)

Astro Photography Tool issue

Hi, I am using Astro Photography Tool (APT) to try and take a few images of nebular.
I am just starting out with this so please bear with me on the technical terms of things.

So equipment wise, I am using the Skywatcher AZ-EQ6
Running ASCOM, Stallerium, APT and using a Canon DLSR

So in point craft settings on APT, i have everything set up for plate solve 2
Do i really need to set up the All Sky Plate solver or will it work just fine running Plate solve 2?

I have watched a few videos now on tutorials on how to set point craft up and all just seam to only downlow and set up Plate solve 2 and not really worry about the All Sky Plate solve, only one tutorial went and installed this.

Now the only reason i am asking all this is because last night i was out trying things out,
I was using Orion Nebular as the target as it is nice and easy to see.

So I slew to Orion, opened point craft in APT, selected Orion, took a 2 second shot, Orion shows up on the screen.
So far all good things are as they should be.

Now i click on Solve ( in point craft ) It reads solving, but nothing happens, just sits there for a few minutes and times out.

Any thoughts on what i may have done incorrectly?

I am guessing i have installed the Plate Solve 2 software incorrectly and might just take it out and re install it again.

Or do i need to have this All Sky Plate solver installed as well?

Or the other thing is, do i need the full paid version for all this to work, I haven't got the paid version yet as i ant to make sure it all worked fine first.

Any thoughts or ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Peter.
Old 16-03-2021, 09:56 AM
AdamJL

Hi Peter. I don't use APT (NINA user here) so I don't know the ins and outs of that software, and can't answer everything, but are you able to use ASTAP instead as a Plate Solver in APT?