Old 20-04-2019, 06:35 PM
Nutkaze (Glenn)

Celestron wedge setup

I'm relatively new to all of this and struggling with this wedge for the Nexstar 6SE. I'm planning on using it for astrophotography, but does anyone know much about initial setup for the southern hemisphere as most info is about Northern Hemisphere? This is how I'm doing it now...

Currently set up at 33.7 degrees latitude i.e. Sydney. Does it need to be 56.3 (90 minus 33.7)

Wedge base facing south
Optical tube facing south (is it supposed to be towards the southern meridian?)

Equipment
Nexstar 6SE with HC AND ALT-AZ mount
Celestron wedge
Zwo asi 224 camera
Dew shield

Equipment yet to be set up is

SVBONY 50mm guidescope with helical focuser
Datyson Astro T7 camera for the guidescope
Celestron Starsense AutoAlign
(Mounted simultaneously on an Orion dual finder bracket)

Thanks in advance

Glenn
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (IMG_20190420_173947.jpg)
204.3 KB201 views
Click for full-size image (IMG_20190420_193651.jpg)
148.3 KB133 views
Old 23-04-2019, 03:56 AM
mental4astro (Alexander)
kids+wife+scopes=happyman

Hi Glenn,

I see where you are having difficulties - you have the orientation of the wedge wrong by 180°. From your first pic, it means turning the whole set up from in the opposite orientation.

The pivot of the RA (azimuth) needs to pointing towards the south celestial pole. As you have it set up, it is pointing in the wrong direction. So what you have pointing North should actually be pointing South.

Alex.
Old 23-04-2019, 07:57 AM
Nutkaze (Glenn)

Thanks so much John!

I'll give it a go and let you know how it turns out.

Glenn
Old 23-04-2019, 08:12 AM
The_bluester (Paul)

What Alex said. If you aim the OTA what would be straight up if it was not on the wedge it should be pointed at the south celestial pole. If you point of the other way apart from following the wrong arc to track the stars it will also be tracking west to east not east to west.
Old 23-04-2019, 08:40 AM