#1  
Old 17-02-2009, 12:54 AM
telemarker's Avatar
telemarker (Keith)
Registered User

telemarker is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 601
TC 80N3 and mirror lockup

Can someone throw some light on how to take multiple long exposures with mirror lockup using a TC 80N3 clone. Is it a manual operation?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-02-2009, 01:49 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 11,333
Keith, sorry mate, although I have two of these units and they are worth there weight in gold, that is the only thing it wont do.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-02-2009, 02:13 PM
troypiggo's Avatar
troypiggo (Troy)
Bust Duster

troypiggo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,844
No need for mirror lockup. Don't think it works anyway because you need 2 presses of the shutter.

It was explained to me that for astrophotography, since the exposures are so long and dark, the effect of mirror slap is virtually negligible, so don't worry about it.

Not sure which clone you have, but for mine I just set the camera to bulb exposure and set the remote to take whatever number of shots I want for whatever shutter speed I want and away we go.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-02-2009, 02:17 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 11,333
Yea Keith, Troy is dead right, you really don't need lock up at all, just set it and forget it.

I have done all night sessions, of twenty 9 minute subs, plus ICNR, on, went to bed and got up one hour before it finished, and all was well.

The TC-N803's are priceless.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-02-2009, 04:23 PM
avandonk's Avatar
avandonk
avandonk

avandonk is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,786
If you want to do short exposures with mirror lockup it is just a matter of using the interval to give the system time to settle down after mirror lockup and then the exposure occurs at the start of the next cycle. So you get one exposure for two cycles.

This is great fo multiple exposures of Sun, Moon or Planets. I used this for the transit of Venus. It also gives you frames the same time apart for subsequent animation. As Leon says this timer is great. Itis also good for timelapse.

Bert
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-02-2009, 11:25 PM
telemarker's Avatar
telemarker (Keith)
Registered User

telemarker is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 601
Hmmm..... thought as much, but you'll never know if you don't ask.
Thanks for the replies everyone.
Still, it is brilliant for setting up long sequences of subs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement