ANZAC Day
Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-08-2022, 05:34 PM
Startrek (Martin)

ZWO2600MC issue ??

I captured 6 hrs ( 3 min dithered guided subs) on M16 last night with my 2600MC , L Extreme and 6” Newt under a descending 48% waxing moon ( used Gain 0 HDR ) Conditions were excellent guiding at around 0.60 total until it deteriorated in the early hours
Camera was cooled to -10C and I captured calibration frames as well
The above procedures I’ve been doing for 2 years now with this camera and had good results on a wide variety of objects at both my imaging sites

Stacked and Processed the data today and the stretched imaged is extremely noisy and the level of nebulosity is like I was using a DSLR with 60 sec subs

I did notice the cooling drop to - 8.3 C st one stage , it’s never ever done that in 2 years I’ve been using the camera

The stretched image is like I was using a DSLR really poor noisy data

Question
The camera is just over 2 years old ( out of warranty) should I perform a ZWO Firmware update ??
It’s as if the camera has lost its performance

Appreciate any advice

I know I’m imaging under Bortle 7/8 but I’ve never had such a noisy image and it’s not as if I’m short of data , there’s plenty of data to stack

I also changed settings in DSS , same outcomes

In addition, I did image the Helix last week and captured 6 hrs ( 3 min subs ) -10C with L Extreme , Cal frames and so on , similar situation, really noisy and stars were all saturated ( I used Gain 100 )

I think there’s definitely something wrong with my camera as it’s been performing well for 2 years at both sites , Bortle 7/8 and Bortle 3

Camera connects fine and operates correctly with my capture software APT

Next clear night I’ll be out testing my backside off trying all scenarios