Old 30-05-2021, 09:56 PM
Startrek (Martin)

Big dew drip on 2600MC sensor

Ive been imaging with my 2600MC for 9 months now without any issues at all until tonight.
I was imaging the lobster nebula and noticed the first 4 minute sub had a curved streak in the frame, so I paused imaging, checked the filter and coma corrector, they were all clean , then shone a torch into the sensor , yep big drip mark.Bugger, I dreaded this problem might rear it’s ugly head at some stage in the future although I take full blame for this leaving my camera in the scope in my Dome for a week, the temperature differential would have been at least 15 degrees between night and day plus humidity. Prior to having a permanent set up I always brought my camera back inside after warming it and disconnecting.

Appreciate some, advice from folk who have cleaned dew spots from their ZWO camera sensors
1/ Is it better to buy new desiccant tablets or put the existing ones in the microwave and install quickly
2/ Can you clean the sensor itself carefully with Q tips and isopropyl alcohol ( ZWO manual says use ethanol )
3/ I have a hurricane blower I use with my Televue eye pieces , is it suitable to clear dust etc from sensor using a hurricane blower
4/ Should I send the camera away for professional cleaning rather than attempt it myself ?

Appreciate any advice on the above

Thanks
Old 30-05-2021, 11:14 PM
glend (Glen)

You can clean it yourself. The sensor has a cover glass over the face of it, not to be confused with the sensor compartment glass. There are commercial sensor cleaning swabs available Online with are used to clean DSLR sensors, they work fine. They are a microfiber cloth over a flat plastic stick, with a cleaning fluid in them, one wipe and it's clean.

Here is one example:

https://www.amazon.com.au/VSGO-Camer...29279754&psc=1

I used those sensor cleaners on my ASI1600 mm c for years, no issues.