Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 05-05-2021, 05:41 PM
Rigel003's Avatar
Rigel003 (Graeme)
Registered User

Rigel003 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 1,059
aperture settings for camera lens on cooled cmos cam

I've just got an adapter to connect my canon camera lenses with my fairly new QHY268C. Never done this before as there wasn't enough backfocus to use my Canon lenses with my previous FLI camera plus filter wheel.

Silly question perhaps and something I hadn't thought about before, but how do you control aperture settings? If you set the required aperture when it's attached to the Canon camera body, will it remain at this f/stop when transferred to the QHY?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2021, 09:38 PM
Joshua Bunn's Avatar
Joshua Bunn (Joshua)
Registered User

Joshua Bunn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Albany, Western Australia
Posts: 1,272
Hi Graham.


I Think you have to press the depth of field preview button on the side of the camera while you disconnect the lens from the camera body.
Josh
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2021, 12:53 AM
Rigel003's Avatar
Rigel003 (Graeme)
Registered User

Rigel003 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 1,059
Brilliant! Just tried this and it works. I couldn't work this out and even asked on Cloudy Nights with no one suggesting this. Thought I was going to have to use a set of step-down rings and give up internal aperture control.

Thanks so much Josh.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2021, 08:17 AM
AdamJL
Registered User

AdamJL is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 772
Wait I had no idea about this either. I’m just about to get a ASCOM adapter to control the aperture (and Autofocus).... seems the aperture control can be done differently.
Which adapter do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2021, 12:30 PM
Rigel003's Avatar
Rigel003 (Graeme)
Registered User

Rigel003 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 1,059
Cyclops Optics adapter.
https://www.cyclopsoptics.com/cyclop...adapter-canon/

For the moment I'm ok with manual focussing.The astromechanics adapter looks good, but a lot more expensive.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-05-2021, 02:51 PM
AdamJL
Registered User

AdamJL is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 772
thanks Graeme

I wouldn't mind something like this as a backup. Thanks. It looks like a great adapter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement