Old 24-04-2012, 04:28 PM
peter_4059 (Peter)
Big Scopes are Cool

Calling all QHY8/QHY8pro users

The QHY8 seemed like a very popular choice a year or two back and it has been around for a while now. There must be dozens of people on the forum who have used this camera (and/or the pro version).

I opted for the QHY8pro version to get the temperature setpoint control as I was concerned about the temperature dropping too low at Astrofest where the ambient can drop below zero although I must admit I preferred the shape of the QHY8.

I've been using the camera for about 18 months now (when the weather permits) and have been happy with the images it produces.

I'm interested to hear what experience others have had?
Old 24-04-2012, 04:39 PM
Alchemy (Clive)
Quietly watching

Nice camera, I had the original, pretty much noise free, easy to use, never let me down.

Just didn't have the resolution when I downscaled from a 12 inch newt to a 5 inch refractor, so got the qhy9
Old 24-04-2012, 06:52 PM
Tandum (Robin)

I had one as well and it produced a couple of IOTWs here. I moved to mono for the narrowband option. I regret selling it but needed the cash to swap cameras.
Old 24-04-2012, 09:12 PM
troypiggo (Troy)
Bust Duster

I've heard there can be issues with moisture getting in and icing up the sensor on the pro version. Makes the temperature control pretty useless if you have to run it at above zero temperatures to prevent that. Not sure if it's a design issue or common.
Old 24-04-2012, 09:45 PM
allan gould

I had a QHY8 (original) for several years and during that time I did have an initial problem with the chip icing up but after talking to Theo I made sure I kept it in a dry environment (silica gel) and purchased a heating element to use with it. I had no problems thereafter.