Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 21-05-2012, 03:09 PM
Major Havoc (Travis)

Absolute beginner

Hello,

Have been doing a fair bit of drinking tonight and finally decided to take the plunge and register on an astronomy forum and wound up here!

I have a $600 Celestron telescope in the basement but have never used it, a family member set it up years ago but I don't think they had any idea what they were doing.

I live in Maine, U.S.A. and just now noticed this is an Australian astronomy forum by looking at the top of the page, so not sure if that's a good thing or a bad thing

Anyways, I have always been fascinated by the stars, planets, and space in general. I had a couple of cheap telescopes as a kid, but they were so hard to pinpoint on anything worth seeing that I just gave up. One night I got lucky and found Jupiter for just a moment, and one or two of it's moons, that was a moment I will never forget but have never been able to replicate.

I know I already have the equipment to begin my quest in amateur astronomy so I guess I just need some encouragement and/or prodding.

A few months ago I acquired all of the episodes of Carl Sagans "The Cosmos" , what a great show that was to watch.

Not sure where to go from here, but I guess I need to take some initiative and bring my telescope upstairs tomorrow
Old 21-05-2012, 04:31 PM
Colin_Fraser

Everyone starts somewhere.
But you won't see much in this condition
Old 22-05-2012, 12:35 AM
Jaybee (John)

G'Day Travis
I agree with Colin, speaking from experience, the more you drink, the less you see!