ANZAC Day
Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 14-05-2008, 11:26 AM
bdos

Hi all! Im desperate for help!!

Hi everyone.

Im not sure if ive posted this in the right section but im a real beginner so here it is!

I was really hoping someone could help me with a little ‘project’ im working on.

Quite a few years ago my brother passed away and some family friends gave our family a gift which was naming a star after my brother through the “international star registry” (disclaimer: im not sure if this international star registry is a bit of a scam?? Is it? either way – it doesn’t really affect my project)

What id like to do is have this tattooed on my arm and was hoping you guys could help me design it.

the star is part of the southern cross (Crux?) constellation. I want to get a small tattoo of the southern cross on my arm with some kind of astronomy symbols or markings which in effect, point to, or explain somehow, where my brothers star is in relation to the southern cross.

Does this make sense?? Is it possible?

Any help would be greatly appreciated even if its just pointing me in the right direction.

Cheers!!!
Old 14-05-2008, 11:50 AM
Screwdriverone (Chris)
I have detailed files....

Hi Bdos,

Very nice idea by the way!

I have attached a screenshot of the constellation of Crux from a free program called Stellarium 0.9.0 and this has a very nice constellation art depicting the southern cross which may be suitable for a tattoo?

If you download the program and click on the stars around Crux's constellation, you should be able to identify which one is your brother's star and then perhaps mark it on the picture and take it in to the parlour.

Hope this is of help.

Cheers

Chris
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (crux.JPG)
85.7 KB52 views
Old 14-05-2008, 11:58 AM
bdos

excellent! thanks Screwdriverone!