Old 10-04-2018, 03:34 PM
CesnaGirl

Question Need astrophotography advice

I'm so excited to be jumping into astrophotography. However I'm a newbie, greenhorn, or just simply fresh off the boat or on the boat! ha ha ha

So I was reading this article: https://www.photographytalk.com/begi...-for-beginners

Under the recommended gear part, they mention about getting a "fast lens". Now I know what that means, but what would be really helpful is example. Are we talking a fast zoom lens or do I want to go with a fast wide lens?

I'll be mounting this on Nikon D800 or Nikon D810.

Also can you tell me for tracking stars which is better between Skywatcher Adventure or Vixen tracker?

Thank you in advance!!
Old 10-04-2018, 03:52 PM
Kunama

I have not tried astrophotography since the 70's, but for a beginner I would suggest a fast and wide lens as a starting point.....

I am sure some of the imagers will come in with a million ways to help you spend money !!!
Old 10-04-2018, 05:31 PM
Atmos (Colin)
Ultimate Noob

I’ve not used either of those trackers myself but from reading reviews of others, I don’t think there is much of a difference between them. I hear more positive reviews from the Sky Watcher but that is most likely due to Sky Watcher having a wider availability in Aus than Vixen products.

As for a “fast lens”, it is simply one that works well at wide apertures. I have a Nikon D810 myself and they are really taxing on optical quality, especially for astrophotography. I am yet to do any astrophotography with my D810 yet but I have done some with my D7200 and a Sigma Art 85mm F/1.4 @ F/2.8.

Large Magellanic Cloud
Rho
18 Panel mosaic of the Milky Way

Although I haven’t tested it yet I’d likely want to use F/4 on the D810 to try to correct the coma further off-axis.
Soon I’ll be trying with a second hand Zeiss 135mm f/2 and the D810 at different apertures just to see how it performs.