#1  
Old 23-10-2021, 11:12 AM
garymck (Gary)
Registered User

garymck is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Geelong
Posts: 767
Camera to monitor equipment in obs?

Hi,
looking for suggestions as to what type of camera I should use to monitor the inside of my obs whilst I relax inside the house and image remotely? Have tried a decent webcam, but does not have enough sensitivity in the dark. Not sure what to get.

TIA
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-10-2021, 12:00 PM
glend (Glen)
Registered User

glend is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lake Macquarie
Posts: 6,584
There are a number of wireless farm gate type cameras, also used to snap wildlife at night. Easy to mount. Weather proof as well.
Something like this,


https://au.kentfaith.com/KF35.004_kf...iABEgKyS_D_BwE

There are also normal home security type camwra s you can buy at JB Hifi.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-10-2021, 12:37 PM
peter_4059's Avatar
peter_4059 (Peter)
Big Scopes are Cool

peter_4059 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,452
Dont like the idea of 48 IR leds pointing at your scope when you are imaging. Something like an ASI120MM is plenty sensitive enough to monitor the scope with no IR lighting and it comes with a wide angle lens.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-10-2021, 05:42 PM
glend (Glen)
Registered User

glend is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lake Macquarie
Posts: 6,584
I suggest you remote your laptop app visibility into the house, using something like Team viewer ( which can be setup to only operate within your Wi-Fi network, no internet connection). I used yo sit in the house with a Team viewer screen open on my Notebook, which allowed me to see what SGP was doing in real time. It would throw up the last image in the sequence, report any issues, show where It was in the sequence, allow complete control from my lounge room. If your mount is run off an app on your laptop that to can be seen and controlled via Team viewer.
Yes Windows Remote works too. Just make sure you have turned off any WIN update functions so there are no surprises.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-10-2021, 05:02 AM
NorthernLight's Avatar
NorthernLight (Max)
Settled

NorthernLight is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 341
In case you already own a Canon DSLR, you could use it as a webcam via their new app for windows/Mac. Works from a 650D up and can be run with a wide lens at Max ISO, not pretty perhaps but miles better than a micro sensor webcam.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement